Hypnosis | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

I guess I will start this post by saying that I have heard and seen many disturbing stuff in the last few years. That's pretty much inevitable if you're like me, who loves watching (and reading) documentaries on crimes, plane crash, and unsolved mysteries.

I've come to the point where I can tell in great detail why Air France 447 stalled and crashed into the Atlantic Ocean in 2009, or the story of Grand Duchess Anastasia Nikolaevna. I can get really nerdy and hooked into interesting, albeit disturbing, stories. It's partly my sister's fault, because some time during 7th grade, she left this thick AF unsolved mysteries book at home that I eventually buried my nose into.

Today, more than stories, I came across some really pretty, but definitely disturbing portrait photographs that I naturally took interest into and decided to draw.

Portraits by Stefan Gesell

Stefan Gesell is a German photographer and artist whose works are mainly characterized by futuristic and dark creations. Most of his masterpieces are almost fantastical, and are sometimes downright terrifying.

Despite what disturbing feelings his photographs invoke, they are simply just so beautiful and attractive. I would have loved to share some of his works here, but you can check them out yourself in his official online portfolio.

I took interest in drawing many portraits by Gesell, but for now, I settled with this particular piece. Compared to his other works, this one is hands-down one of the simplest -- if not the simplest. (Hence, easier to draw hahaha).

Drawing Hypnosis

As there are no references to what its title could possibly be, I named this one Hypnosis. There is something about the way the black stripes wrap around the woman and the way she stares into the camera that command its audience to stop and look at her.

Below are progress shots compiled into a GIF. I don't have much to say, except I used the MediBang's pencil brush extensively this time.

I almost couldn't figure out how to remove the flatness in the stripes that wrapped around the woman, until I realized that that was where lighting technically comes in (I had to stare at the reference photo for a while before I realized this -facepalm-).

I think it turned out OK -- it wasn't as bad as I was expecting it to end up being. I personally liked how the lips turned out.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); smudge; blur

Notes

I was thinking about naming this post Dizzy, because I had been unimaginably dizzy the whole day today. And I sincerely thought the circles on her face simply worsened the dizziness. LMAO.



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

Wowww i love it

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much, @aleluya! I'm happy that you like it!

This is amazing.

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much, @gloriaolar! ❤️

I can only say "WOW!" This picture is incredibly beautiful. At first glance I thought it was real. Her eyes look so real like me.

 4 years ago  

Awesome! Thank you!❤️ This one has actually become one of my favorites.

looks really cool <3

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much!! ❤️

I love this! You're amazing!! ❤️

 4 years ago  

Aaaaah! Thank you so much! ❤️❤️❤️