I didn't scream | Drawing with the Note 10 Plus

in OnChainArt4 years ago


I didn't yell.

Or curse. Or made such a scandalous ruckus. I just sat, stared, and questioned everything.

That was the case the first time I experienced being touched without my permission while sitting inside a very cramped jeepney.

On my chest. On the side of my neck. On my nape. On my back.

This was a long story, but that night just proved to me how difficult it was to be a girl. I was sixteen. But that experience taught me just how to respond in the following years to come.

If I get placed among other women, I would be called the least fashionable. I would wear t-shirts and jeans to work, and the times I would wear a dress I would cover with my hoodie. I wear skirts from time to time, because I like wearing them. They are comfortable and, well, make me feel like the girl I am.

But regardless how plain I look, how boring my clothes are, or how uninterested I paint my face to be, perverts just don’t stop. They won’t. Every week as I walk to work there would always be times when I get catcalled. Sometimes, followed. Sometimes, looked at so maliciously I wanted to puke.

If someday I would have my own children...

...I would choose to have a son. Kakie Pangilinan perfectly clears up all the clutter in my mind and puts together everything I could have wanted to say.

How very cynical, right? This isn't to discount the fact that there are men who experience sexual harassment, too. But as a girl, I just feel very strongly about this. It sucks when people tell girls what to wear.

Instead of teaching your daughters what to wear, teach your kids -- girls and boys alike -- to respect other people and their personal spaces.

Drawing I didn't scream

The inspiration came one time when I realized just how I wanted to draw expressions for a change. If I want to draw something happy, I want it to be of someone laughing. If I want to draw something sad, I want it to be of someone bawling his eyes out he turns red. If I want to draw something angry...

I want it to be someone who looked angry not at another person, but angry at herself. And I found the perfect subject on Pinterest (Pinterest, the perfect source for references hahaha).

I started with a rough sketch on a separate layer that I slowly blocked/shaded. Initially I wanted to use only one brush, but I ended up using both the pencil brush and the watercolor brush.

While completing the drawing, there were some things that I changed, just because I wanted to make her look a little more dramatic. I find that I enjoy drawing expressions, and I look forward to doing more of this.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: pencil (at varying opacity settings); watercolor (at varying opacity settings); smudge; blur


ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram

Sort:  

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 comments. Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Super 👌

 4 years ago  

Thank you! 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It was very nice step by step.

 4 years ago  

Thank you!

Men can do better. I starts with educating yourself about sexism and sexual assault and ends in educating those around you.

 4 years ago  

Agreed! What a big difference this kind of mindset would do. Thanks for dropping by. 😊

I loved this post so much, I think I'll be back.

Brother I couldn't read the text because I was too attracted to the drawing.

It is too awesome, I love the steps. I just wish I have this skill, it's just too awesome.

Thanks for sharing bro 🤗👍

 4 years ago  

Hahaha. That means a lot. Thank you, @starstrings01!


Congratulations @erangvee!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Aba... Maypahaging ka ha... Pero safe sentence... Sige patulan ko ha? Opinyon ko lang naman ito na meron naman basehan. Baka mamaya may magalit na naman? Pero sigurado meron... (^_^)

The questions is? Paano mo ituturo sa iyong mga anak na igalang ang ibang tao at ang kanilang mga personal na puwang kung hindi ito nakikita sa iyo bilang isang Kristiyano na nakabase ang pananampalataya sa salita ng Dios.

Ang hirap na tanong ano? (^_^) Pero kung sa iba ito, ang isasagot nila "kanya-kanya tayo ng paniniwala or akala mo naman kung sinong perpekto". Nagsisimula na ang mainit na usapan dyan... Kasi ang sagot na iyan ay "kamangmangan at kapilosopohan". Dahil bilang Kristiyano, meron tayong katungkulan na sabihin sa lahat ang nararapat na sundin ayon sa utos ng Dios, walang labis at walang kulang, walang maidadagdag at walang maibabawas. Bawal kasi ng Dios.

Ngunit kung natapos mo na itong sabihin at ayaw naman nilang sundin, wala ng pananagutan ang taong nagpaalala nito. Pagmamahal kasi ito sa kapwa tao, pamilya o kaibigan ayon kay Kristo Hesus na ating kinikilala.

Hindi na ako naglagay ng sitas at madami ang nagagalit sa mga sitas ng Biblia. Baka sabihin nagmamagaling ako at nagmamarunong na naman.

Natrigger lang kasi ako dyan sa last sentence mo ate, pasensya ka na. But we respect other beliefs but not their wrongdoing or deeds especially teaching that is not according to the scriptures. But if this person is an ATHEIST or AGNOSTIC there will be no discussion because there is no point in the conversation.

Salamat sa Dios... Ingatan nawa palagi... Miss you na ate... Dalangin ko na maging isa kang mabuting Kristiyana for the future of your children...

Wow, very beautiful, and a high creativity.

Waoo I could barely read ea h line to the end cos am so attached to the portrait is so beautiful and it's creativity is really high and I love it sometimes I wish I have such talent I could seat and draw beautiful things of this world Weldon carry on really beautiful and catchy

 4 years ago  

thank you so much, @tessydora!