[Speed paint] Magenta | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

It's been a short while! How's it going?

I was trying to catch up with quite a lot of things the past few days and can't get to drawing anything. I watched and re-watched lots of anime:

Yes, all these in the span of 5 days. I'm not through re-watching Death Note and Monster yet, though... Anyway, besides these, I was also quite hooked into my work. I'm proud to say that I'm finally done with the 5-month-old MATLAB technical paper I was working on, and am currently focusing on CFD. Earlier, I was wondering how I can keep up with drawing, and thought to do a quick digital drawing.

Magenta

Choosing the reference

I'm not even sure if it's proper to call this Magenta, but I did anyway. This is based off a reference from Pinterest. The pinned page was in Spanish (I don't speak Spanish... kind of), but it appears that the photographer was Assiah Alcázar.

I wanted one that had a striking characteristic to it. This one has, which lies on the color... magenta? red? fuchsia? I suck at colors lmao.

Drawing the initial sketch

I initially drew this almost a month ago. This is one of the eternal WIPs I kept yapping about in many of my previous posts. The sketch was drawn on MediBang Paint for Android with the intention of coloring it in the same app.

In fact, I started coloring it as soon as I finished with the sketch. Then I stopped. When I came back, I had the sudden want to try something else.

Speed Painting

The whole thing became a literal speed paint. It took me 56 minutes (flat, unless we count milliseconds to microseconds as significant...) to paint this, if the recording was to be used as timer.

I used SketchBook for this one, with particular interest in the synthetic paint brushes. My first experience painting with acrylics was when I was around 11 or 12, when I made a mural with a couple of friends in our school. It went on every year until I was 16, and then, nothing.

So this came as some sort of a pick-me-up. There were 2 color layers (plus the lineart layer), the background and the portrait. I almost forgot how freeing it was to digitally paint without using clipping hahaha.

Details

Timelapse

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

Notes

This was another fun thing to do. I want to keep drawing without regards to accuracy, details, and all other meticulous stuff. I'd been pretty much stressed out from work, and am literally literally scared of what's to come in the future, so I needed something like this.



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 4 years ago  

Thank you! ❤️

!discovery 20

 4 years ago  

Thank you. ❤️


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 4 years ago  

Thanks so much! :)