Oh, Monday | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Oh, Monday.

It was a tiring day. Work was as usual, but there was something about it that really just exhausted all energy from me. It turned out that I wasn't alone. One of my colleagues set up a test poll in our work messenger and literally everyone voted I'm tired.

And to our horror, it's still just Monday. Oh, Monday. Every Friday also makes us wary because — guess what — Monday would be once again just around the corner.

Drawing has been a welcomed diversion to work-related stress, and while I definitely had no time to draw earlier today, I still managed to sneak a supposedly quick sketch that in the end didn't turn out to be so quick.

Drawing this Monday

Just for the heck of it, I was meaning to do sketches of Stefan Gesell's works. You can say I've been a fan since I had accidentally stumbled upon his photos.

But what was supposedly a quick drawing ended up to be a nearly 2-hour-sketch, after which I had no energy left to draw more. LMAO. So this sketch-ish work is based off one of Gesell's portrait photography works.

There is something eerie about it. I think it has to do with how there are blotches of what appears to be blood. And just how stern the model looks.


For a sketch-ish work, this sure had quite a lot of layers. In particular

  • Layer 1: sketch (pencil)
  • Layer 2: details, shadows, etc (watercolor)
  • Layer 3: base color (watercolor)
  • Layer 4: solid background

I think I drew her a little thinner than the original, and I had to adjust her quite a number of times throughout the drawing process. Quite a lot of mishaps for something that I intended to do quickly.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity)

Notes

I hope Tuesday wouldn't be as mentally tiring as today had been. I think I did a lot of code debugging today that's a few weeks' worth of what I'm used to doing. I've gone a little too shabby in my coding, I seriously need practice.



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

Wow!
Looks really good! 🤩🤩🤩

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much!!! ❤️

It's an awesome portrait. I ust love how everything just turned out.

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much! I'm happy it turned out OK. 😅

 4 years ago  

This is really good. And you did on Medibang!?
I could never get that software to work for me.

 4 years ago  

Thank you! 😊

I think the opposite goes for me — I just can't get used to software other than MediBang or SketchBook. 😅

If it's any consolation I'm pretty sure everyone who has ever drawn anything regularly has encountered the problem of "I'll just do this quick sketch" ...[several unintended hours later]... XD

I had that pretty recently lol

I hope you feel that the result was worth the time spent, it looks good :)

 4 years ago  

hahahaha! this has got to be part of a syndrome or something, the common denominator being losing track of time creating a piece. 😅

thank you! ❤️ in the end, it was a time well spent.

I believe the syndrome is called "being an artist"? XD