Park Bo-gum | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago

I was planning to write a very, very, very long post about how I draw using my phone and MediBang Paint for Android, but my brain can't keep up. Words always fail me when I try to describe something, and I find that actually showing how it's done is the best way to go.

But I suck at editing videos, how much more tutorial ones? I thought I would try, but maybe not today. In the near future, though, I would. For now, I think my timelapse videos give a general idea of how I do my digital drawings.

Salient point: I draw by pure gut feeling. Which hinders learning, to be honest, but that's what I got used to over time.

No one-size-fits-all

This will probably make you cringe, but I hardly even understand values. I know the bare minimum about arts as far as art classes in high school went. I do watch online tutorials on Youtube, but I haven't exactly applied them.

If there's something I learned about online tutorials, there's no one-size-fits-all formula to drawing. Every tutorial you'd find online is something that worked for a particular artist, and will probably work for others, too. Here's mine, that I developed over the time I've been practicing.

The Drawing: Park Bo-Gum

The reference for today's drawing is from a Pinterest post I found online. It is a photo of Park Bo-gum, a South Korean actor. He's pretty popular among girls because he makes our hearts flutter without even trying! Hahaha. (Just getting that last bit out there.)

Drawing Park Bo-Gum

1. Draw that sketch.

This is my favorite part. When I said draw that sketch, I meant draw it without worrying about accuracy. I would draw the initial sketch and find that no, it didn't resemble the reference at all. Most of the time, it would look hideous (hence, I always only share the clean ones here).

  • Brush: Pencil, 100% opacity

After making a very rough sketch, I would adjust it (select, transform, erase, draw) so it gets the general form of the drawing. Then create a second layer and draw a cleaner sketch based on the reference that's more accurate, while still following the form of the messy base sketch.

2. Base colors

Then I would add in the base colors following through the cleaner line art. I do them in separate layers for different parts: a layer for the base color of the skin, another for the hair. Then another for other parts.

Sometimes I worry about the color to use. There are times I use lighter colors, sometimes darker, sometimes in between. Here, I used the in between.

  • Brush: Watercolor, 100% opacity

3. Shadows

Previously, I would color the details one by one. The skin first, then the hair, then the rest. I had a change of "formula" since coming back to draw after a month-long hiatus.

I would add all shadows first before penning in the details. I enjoy seeing the drawing take form, no matter how vague. I think that thought contributes to this choice.

  • Brush: Watercolor, varying opacity

4. Details... details... details

Finally, the arduous task of painting the details. I normally start with the face. In particular, the nose. I don't know why, but I liked seeing the nose finally have shape. It would be followed by the eyes, mouth, eyebrows, then the rest of the skin.

I would play around with the watercolor brush's opacity and color pick in between colors. One of my favorites is adding the highlight. It was a little difficult, but still fun nonetheless.

Therapeutic

I always say this, and I'll say it again. Drawing is therapeutic... to me. I takes my mind off things in the long period I engage myself in it. It also makes me discover things I thought I already got covered, making me realize I have lot I can learn as long as I keep going.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); pen (100% opacity); blur

Notes

I actually really like Park Bo-gum. Since watching one of his shows a few years back, I've become really aware of him and his following filmography. He has this really kind look that's so charming, it's difficult not to like.

I haven't been meaning to draw him, but I found it while going through Pinterest and I can't help it! One of my friends, @glenduuuuuh, is a big fan of his, so I'll dedicate this piece for her. (Unfortunately, she hasn't been active here since 2 years ago.)



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  

I was planning to write a very, very, very long post about how I draw using my phone and MediBang Paint for Android, but my brain can't keep up.

Please do, "behind the scenes" is always interesting to see. Split the material for multiple episodes.

One of my friends, @glenduuuuuh, is a big fan

Bring her back, it's about time. Hive is awesome :-)

 4 years ago  

i was contemplating about publishing multiple parts for different topics on this BTS concept, so i might try!

hahaha Hive is awesome. i've been trying to pull her back, and she promised to come back once her schedule clears. :)

Before Hive was born I used to have a non-Hive schedule too... ;-)

omg this is awesome! :O

 4 years ago  

thank you so much! ❤️

👋 Hi @erangvee, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community