A study of lights 'I' (Digital Drawing)

in OnChainArtlast year (edited)

Hello everyone, it's been a harrowing few months for me. I was working on a project with a few people I considered like-minded and level-headed and was surprised to find out the opposite, right when I was in the thick of it and too deep in to back out. I was the lead artist on the project and had invested the most time (months) and energy, none of which bore fruit. As someone who has always preferred working alone, and was initially skeptical about working with other people, the failure affected me more than I thought it would, and for months I could not even attempt to draw, which led me further into a pit of self-doubt and loathing. My mental and physical health were affected due to the stress of this project and in the end, I came to understand a few valuable lessons.


 A Study of Lights 'I'.jpg


This drawing was the first I did after all those months, and while I now feel a renewed sense of purpose and inspiration, I wish it didn't have to come at certain costs.

•••

I've always understood the importance of lighting in art, both natural and man-made and while my previous works have had lighting to a certain degree, it has always been in subtle ways. I've decided to make lighting a focal point in my new works, making it as overt as possible, in order to add depth to my character. This piece does a good job of conveying my intent, with the lighting coming from different sources. And though it might not be as perfect as can be, I'm really proud of what came out of my efforts. I created three main sources of light, the yellow car headlights to the left, just a little out of frame, the almost bluish street light shining from above and the purple light coming somewhere from below. I was so conflicted about what I wanted the background to be, initially, I had drawn an outline of storefronts as the background, but quickly changed my mind when I realized how much work I was creating for myself. 😂

While I focused so much on the lighting, I find that my favorite part of the drawing is the eyes, lol.

•••

I'm so excited to show you my future pieces, so please stay tuned.


P.S. I don't know why the full image is not uploading, tried different options to no avail. 🥲

Sort:  

Renewed sense of purpose is important. Thanks for sharing your work and words.