Four Figure Studies: Progress of Style Through Time

in OnChainArt4 years ago

These are again three figure studies in the same time periods of my life, like the previous post. However, this time I am reversing the period: it goes from current to the past, from 2020 to 2011. In these studies, there is not that drastic a change, but one can still see how my style changed. (To the observant viewer, you will see my signature changed over time as well.)

IMG_4070.jpg

Some of the proportions might be out, but I am proud of this work. It always looks so easy to draw the opposite way round, i.e. by erasing the light parts, rather than drawing it. The aggressive marks I made with the charcoal is in stark contrast with the soft shadows of the body. (There is still work that needs to be done).

IMG_4072.jpg

The next two figure studies are from 2012. I was about 18 years old. Again, this period in my life was one of depression and angst and general existential problems. The first one is with the off white background, the next one with the dark black background.

IMG_4071.jpg

The two colours are in contrast, black white, dark light; it definitely symbolizes the internal struggles I felt at the time when I did these. But I think the difference in style is rather stark. In the latest one, there is aggressive marks, almost ripping through the paper, in these two there are rather soft marks.

IMG_4073.jpg

I find it interesting that I turned back to this style in 2020. This was done in 2011, and I think I was still naive here. But the lines are also aggressive and the same feeling is produced of the pencil wanting to rip through the paper.

It is also interesting to view these studies as studies of anonymity and staying in the shadows. The last three figures all look away, as if it symbolizes my own fear of looking at myself. In the most recent study, the figure faces the other way round, almost as if in this study I gathered enough courage to look at myself, but I am still afraid of coming out of the shadows.

I really hope you as viewer enjoy these works of art. Thanks for taking the time to view my art!

Sort:  

Beautiful artworks!

!discovery 30

Thank you so much!! I really appreciate this. It really helps.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

Awesome!! Thanks

:) If you like our work, consider using one of your free votes to vote for us as witness!