Making my first ever movie

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

In 2015, I wrote a short script. Not thinking much of it I put in in a drawer and forgot about it until 2017.untitled2068.jpg

Even then, when I blew the dust of it, it needed some work. So I set myself the task of re-writing the script while keeping in-line with the initial theme. Originally the movie was title "The Bridge", but in the end, it had very few elements that resembled the original when finally finished. The new title after completion was "Feathers".

early poster concept
Feathers Wallpaper.jpg

Creating a movie, even just a short one is an amazing experience. For me it opened up a whole inner world and set me on a journey of discovery and learning, each day opening up to something new and unknown.Rosie's room.jpg

Rosie's Room Board.jpg

The biggest and most unusual occurrence during the whole process was noticing feathers themselves. Everywhere I go I would find one. White feathers in the gym, under my bed, hitting me in the face... This went on for the entirety of the process. I took this as a sign from the universe that whatever I was doing was right, and I was being guided by a higher power.

explaining something arbitrary to the lead actor
untitled1919.jpg

When it came to directing, I can honestly hold my hands up and say I didn't know what I was doing. I had an image in my mind of how I wanted it to look but not being skilled in how to achieve it, I have no shame in saying I totally winged it, but since I built an amazing team around me that had the experience, I knew that no matter what I did, their expertise would shine though to help me achieve what I wanted.

untitled1897.jpg

untitled1890.jpg

untitled2203.jpg

untitled2137.jpg

In the end, I feel I achieved what I set out to do. I created the story that I wanted to tell. It had all of the mystery and magic that I wanted, but I could never have down it without the people who helped me realize that every step of the way. From the cinematographer to my amazing producer. And not forgetting the amazing actor who fit the role perfectly.
untitled2036.jpg

I plan to screen "Feathers" here on HIVE in the future, so keep an eye out for it as I would love to have you all as an audience. When the time is right and I know it will get the audience it deserves I will make that plan, but in the meantime have a look as some more stills from behind the scenes.

untitled573.jpg

untitled2080.jpg

untitled2117.jpg

Feathers Graveyard still.jpg

Feathers Festival ready. Still.jpg

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I am very intrigued. Looks like you had a really professional crew which must have required some funding.
Can't wait to watch it.

We had a budget of about 4k, self-funded. There are definitely things I would do differently next time around which would bring that cost down. Overall I was quite happy, more so based on the wealth of knowledge I accumulated throughout the whole process. Hopefully, if I build enough of an audience here to see it, I'll show it soon.

You make films too, I see. I'd love to hear more about that.

Love this detailed behind the scenes look. Interested in seeing what comes next!

Often we don't see the behind the scenes so it can be almost as interesting as the film itself.

Good luck for your work! Thanks for sharing with us.

!discovery 30

Thank you so much. Your support means alot to me.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

This is awesome! I love the colors!😛

Thanks @rogerfreedom . It was a labour of love.

Wow this is a very dramatic post I love it

Thank you my friend. 😊