Watercolor Portrait #1: Do Kyung Soo

in OnChainArt2 years ago (edited)
Hello everyone! I think it has been twenty-one (21) days since I last posted. I really had been so busy on accomplishing some things for my personal growth and career growth. Happy New Year to everyone as well!

I know I am not alone in wishing that the pandemic would just end as it approaching its third year. *Sigh!* I had my booster last January 19, and I must say its adverse effects were not nice. For few hours, I could just feel my left arm numbing, and then at night I had a had time putting myself to sleep because I frequented the bathroom to pee and my joints were in pain. My joints were not in feeling okay even on the second day.

For now, I am just thankful that the pain is gone. I just noticed some things like there were pimples growing inside my nose, on my right ear, on different areas of my face, and so on. I hope the shot did not affect my hormones. I heard Astrazenica is not that great. Well, wish me luck!

Anyhow, my body was able to recover that is why I went back to the routine that I started last January 3. I went back on toning my muscles and losing my weight through exercise. I relearned French because I have thought to myself, it is high time for me to learn another language and that I must be fluent in it... although it might take awhile.

I also went back to my first love which is painting. I actually made a couple of artworks but this was the only one that I was able to document.

It somehow looked like Chan Eunwoo of Astro, which disappoints me since I wanted to paint Do Kyungsoo of EXO.

0014.jpg

As you can see, I used two brands of watercolor, Canson and Lukas. I used to love Lukas but I do not know why it ended up having molds. Perhaps because my room is really not a great place to store art materials such as watercolors. When I would relocate, I will be promising to myself to find a better place so that my art materials would not turn to waste.

Now, let us paint! But first, I must sketch my subject

0001.jpg

I stopped making artworks for a short while particularly portraits that is why I was not surprised that I was having a hard time trying to replicate Do Kyung Soo on one of his portraits for his solo album. Anyway, I am not even a hyper-realist, nor a realist painter.

He was posing under the shade of a tree I guess and he is surrounded with nature. I wanted to capture nature, but I have thought that I need to work on my watercolor skills on portrait making.

0002.jpg

After painting the base of the face, I painted the hair with dark brown mixed with a little red and dark blue. I was trying so hard to make the color of the hair darker. You would notice that on the later portion of my painting.

0003.jpg

0004.jpg

While trying to paint the eyebrows, I told myself that it would be a miracle if I could get the eyebrows of Kyungsoo perfectly. I was only using a medium-sized round watercolor brush and a medium-sized flat brush.

0005.jpg

And then I tried putting color on his eyes. Honestly, I really have a hard time painting one's eyes and hands. I also wanted to make the background dark and decided to start my painting it wish moss green. It is a shade of green that I was able to achieve by mixing different colors present on my palette.

0007.jpg

And I was like, I needed to paint the background with dark brown. I thought that it would help. The suit was a bit off white, but I was not able to change my watercolor water.

0008.jpg

And then, I thought to myself, I think I made the background too dark. Perhaps I can do something about this.

0009.jpg

Since I was not able to sketch his tie and collar, I was just wishing that I would not drop the my paintbrush while trying to add some details because that usually happens to me. I do have a bad grip.

0010.jpg

And then I tried my best to add few more washes on the face but I have thought, OH MY GOODNESS! WHAT AM I SUPPOSE TO DO NOW?!!!

0011.jpg

Instead of wanting to make him look like Kyungsoo, he somehow resembles Hongjong of ATEEZ. Yay! Anyway, I like that guy too!

0012.jpg

If you are going to observe, I was trying to make a peach color for the lips. I also tried applying such shade on the eyebags. I painted then the rim of the glasses with a white gouache since that is the only water-based art materials that covers up the watercolor.

0013.jpg
Few more details and tadah!I do not think it resembles Kyungsoo but I will try next time when I have the time. But I really do hope I have the time.

Thank you for reading. Have a great day!

Lots of Love,
Johanna Gail




Gail loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.