Commision #24 The Electrifying Lord of the Thunderstorms | Digital Art

in OnChainArt4 years ago

I try to keep control, it's impossible, so I quickly move towards my target, when I have it in range, zaz! A lightning bolt jumps through the cloud to try to intercept the humans, I watch them run and try to seek shelter, trying to escape from my storm, idiots! They thought they'd get something by trying to capture me, they were very wrong.

My being made of electricity, makes me be always active and in sync with my environment, moving at the speed of light among the clouds, my presence is only noticed by the rumble of thunder and the glare of lightning, my goal? To create a beautiful destruction from the skies through which I move. Everyone fears my presence, though I always make grand entrance, so foolish humans can hide in their shelters and avoid being electrocuted by my magnificent, electrifying power.

So let the electricity run through your body, while you keep reading and learn how I have illustrated this commission for @smanuels.

Tools:

  • Wacom Intuos 4
  • Photoshop
  • Medibang Paint

-Step 1:

With somewhat geometric strokes, I started by sketching the electric man, establishing a fluid position, as the idea is that this being is flying in the middle of a thunderstorm.

-Step 2:

Then, in a new layer, I outlined the sketch, improving the strokes and the shape of the character, besides I made a lightning in his hand, in the clouds I didn't make too much effort.

-Step 3:

Then I have added the flat colors, which will be the base of the coloring in general, I have chosen a simple palette of two tones of blue, in order to link easily the character with the background.

-Step 4:

That weird tail is supposed to be lightning bolts coming out of the character's base, but it didn't work out very well for me and I really didn't know how to improve it at that point. Now if you start the detailing, first I added volume to the character by removing the outline, then I used a diffuse brush and added darker tones, likewise, I improved the design a little and added those lines that look like veins or a nervous system, but don't get confused, it's supposed to be electricity running through his being.

-Step 5:

With the opacity at 90%, a hard brush and a size of 4 pixels, I made the rays, to these I added the fusion mode "exterior glow" and then retouch with "overlay", obtaining this way luminous electric lines between the dark clouds. On the other hand, I increased the contrast of the character, and then filled it with luminosity due to its electrical nature.


I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better appreciate the step by step.

See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

I LIKE THIS WORK DONE. THIS ART OF THE STORM MAN IS SPECTACULAR.

 4 years ago  

Very cool.

 4 years ago  

Thanks @nateaguila!

Heey that guy looks like Dr Manhattan :D nice illustration!

 4 years ago  

Yeah, it's quite similar, I may have been a little inspired by him. Thanks!

I love the electric blue, well done💙