Commission #31 Destroyer of the Deep | Digital Art

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

In the depths of the sea a threat moves placidly, he is the owner of the place, a destroyer who does not bleed and fears nothing, his programming incites him to devastate everything around him without contemplation and without forgiveness, crushing with his sharp fangs anything that crosses his path, and then be consumed by his inner combustion and discarded into the infinite ocean.

It is not known who has been the madman who has created such a dangerous creature, but @smanuels has discovered it and has entrusted me to illustrate it so that everyone knows him.

Tools:

  • Wacom Intuos 4
  • Photoshop

-Step 1:

I approached the sketch with a quick structure of a real shark, I had to manage a little with the position, as I could not find a reference image equal to what I had in mind. Once the main structure was ready, I proceeded to add the metal parts to give the robotic touch, but without losing sight of the mobility and characteristics of this great fish.

-Step 2:

In a new layer under the sketch, I added the first traces of color using dark tones, since this monster had to be in the depth of the ocean. From there, I selected lighter and more saturated tones to give lights and reflections to the metal.

-Step 3:

The colors to be used were already clear, so I started to paint over the outline, eliminating the unwanted lines, it is important to highlight that this time I reduced the use of the airbrush, I applied a brush with rough texture, which was ideal to achieve that rough and beaten appearance in the metal, the transitions from one color to another I made them reducing a little the opacity of the brush or simply pressing gently the stylus against the tablet.

-Step 4:

Since it was a machine with a hot engine inside, I looked for references of magma under the ocean, so I could have a guide for what I was planning to do, it turns out that if there is something very hot under water, it makes the water boil and generate many bubbles, but that would hinder the view in the illustration, which is why it only creates a kind of flaming heat with some little clouds of steam. On the other hand, a shark swimming in the middle of an empty ocean would be something a little boring to watch, so I decided to create the bottom of the ocean, a rocky floor with a little lava in it, thus awakening the imagination of the viewer, who sees this scene without some other context could imagine that this machine eats magma, maybe his home is among the heat of the depths, or I don't know.

Tell me in the comments that you imagine when you see this illustration.


I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better appreciate the step by step.

See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Hello, yes, it's me again.
I come to you to light my way by recommending me discord servers, communities or tags that help my art go far and have a greater visualization.
Thank you and have a great day.


Gracias por compartir tu contenido con la comunidad de El Arca (@elarca), el mismo ha sido votado por nuestra iniciativa de curación artística @stellae. Si deseas puedes delegar HP al proyecto: Delegate 25 HP Delegate 50 HP Delegate 100 HP Delegate 250HP Delegate 500HP

Wow! This is really amazing work!
Love it!

 4 years ago  

Thaaaanks 😃

Wow! Amazing work! I love both the concept and execution!

 4 years ago  

I'm glad you like my artwork @nateaguila 😁✌

It is a very good one. Keep up good work.

 4 years ago  

Me encanta tu estilo de dibujo amigo, no has trabajado por casualidad en algun proyecto de juegos? Yo también ilustro y trabajo con 3D pero siempre tengo un amigo que habla mucho pero al final el que tiene que hacer todo soy yo jejejej, y eso que el también hace lo mismo que yo.

 4 years ago  

No, este es el primer proyecto en el que trabajo. Que genial trabajar en 3D, he visto cosas miy geniales hechas en blender y z brush

Esta Ilustración te quedó brutaal. ¡Muy bueno!

 4 years ago  

Muchas gracias @faffy 😁