Commission #30 The Deadliest Reptile in the Far Desert | Digital Art

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Hello children of the sands, welcome to a new arid adventure full of poisonous and dangerous creatures.

In this new commission made for @smanuels, I present you a desert creature, a reptile never seen before, capable of living in hard hot environments, I won't say that it fights for its food, other creatures fight to escape from its claws and avoid being its lunch, therefore if you plan to go on a trip to some sandy place, I recommend you to run away quickly if you notice any quick movement in the sand, maybe it won't help you, but at least you will know that you tried.

Tools:

  • Wacom Intuos 4
  • Photoshop

-Step 1:

As usual, I started with the sketch. This is an absolute rule for almost all my drawings, since this first sketch allows me to establish the main structure of the character, as I don't yet have enough experience to color directly on the canvas from the beginning.

-Step 2:

Having the sketch as a guide, it's time to go coloring, for this I have chosen a palette of tones that are a bit dirty and unsaturated, since the character is supposed to be a base tone in black with golden touches and the environment is located in the middle of the desert.

-Step 3:

I continued with the detailing of the character, getting rid of the lines of the sketch little by little, either by painting over them or simply by going to the layer of the sketch and applying the draft over them. On the other hand, I went to play a little more with the environment, for the sand dunes I made use of the "lasso" tool in this way I selected certain areas and then quickly painted them with the airbrush, thus allowing me to achieve the different shades of light in the sand, in the same way, I used a strong textured brush to simulate a small explosion of sand under the reptile's tail.

-Step 4:

This is where the big changes start, what I love about digital painting is the ease of making improvements to your art. In this case, I felt uncomfortable with the reptile's right hand, I looked for different poses for it and I couldn't get something I liked, besides the client didn't ask me for any weapon for this character, so both the drawing and I were empty-handed. But then I thought "How would be an animal challenge" so I looked for the most threatening animal I could think of, a cobra, this way I solved the problem of its hands and also I can transmit a story through the illustration, the confrontation of two mortal beings, although one in clear disadvantage. The final touches deserve a clear description, obviously those flaky textures I didn't get with the talent of my hands, I'm still not at that artistic level. For this I made one of my first explorations in the technique of -Photobashing- which consists in the insertion of external images inside your illustration to add objects or textures (below I leave you a link for more about it).

Going back to the scales, I took an image of free use, I cut out the part I was interested in, then I adjusted the illumination and tone of it based on the color of my illustration going to image> adjustments> match color, then with the transformation tool I molded the texture until it fit perfectly where I needed it, the leftover edges I erased them with a soft brush, later I added the golden tones with the -overlay- and -soft light- fusion modes.


I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better appreciate the step by step.

See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 4 years ago  

Thanks!

 4 years ago  

Guess what? I forgot to put in the photobashing link, but here it is

What is Photobashing?

source->https://conceptartempire.com/

Also, if you know of any discord server, community or tag that helps me to get more visualization of my art, don't hesitate to tell me, I would be very grateful :D


Gracias por compartir tu contenido con la comunidad de El Arca (@elarca), el mismo ha sido votado por nuestra iniciativa de curación artística @stellae. Si deseas puedes delegar HP al proyecto: Delegate 25 HP Delegate 50 HP Delegate 100 HP Delegate 250HP Delegate 500HP