Caricature made with Chalks

in OnChainArt8 months ago

Hello to all art lovers!!! And one of those who loves drawings made with chalk. ^_^

1- Portada.png

As they are, I hadn't heard from the platform for a long time, I literally disappeared for 4 months, the funny thing is that the reason for my absence on the internet was not voluntary, rather it was the result of a series of unfortunate events that I suffered consecutively. At first I was excited, because my first commission from my current job was presented, because one of the parents of one of the students in the hip hop class was looking for someone to make a chalk drawing for the wall of his restaurant, and he chose me to do it, it would be my first mural (and it is the subject of this publication) it took me a couple of days to do it, when I get home I start to edit the photos and transcribe the post, when I finish I saw that it was too late to post so I decided to upload the post the next day by the time I woke up, I turned off my PC and went to the other room to watch YouTube on my phone before going to sleep, at that moment my mom came to tell me to disconnect all because there was a power surge, I went and disconnected my PC but I detected a burning smell, apparently one of the electrical cables fell on another cable, which caused the electricity to go from 110V to 170V, this failure lasted more than 3 days, when the electricity returned to normal and although my computer was turned off, the power supply of my PC had burned out.

This situation occurred at a time when I had no money so I had to wait 11 days to collect my salary and thus be able to buy the new power source, several days passed and one day when I left work it started to rain very hard and I had to I stayed until it cleared up, so much so that it got dark (I teach in the afternoon from 2 to 4 pm) I stayed until the academy closed, and since all the streets were wet I took a co-worker on my bike to her house Because she lived nearby and in the same direction as my route, I drop her off at her house and continue through the entire center of the city. The streets in that area have many potholes, but the rainwater hid them and didn't I was able to dodge most of them, and at one point when I had crossed the avenue, as if it were a cartoon, the front wheel of my bike came off, I automatically fell to the ground, if it weren't for the front basket of my bike the which had some bags and a face would have crashed to the floor instead my right shoulder was the one that received the impact, it turns out that the fork of my bicycle broke, and I had no choice but to walk carrying my bicycle for 4 kilometers at night and with an injured arm.

That bicycle is my only means of transportation, so repairing it was my top priority to attend my work, so the money I was raising to repair my computer I had to use to repair my bicycle, that way when I get my All my salary went to fixing the bike and my computer would have to wait another month, apart from that for several days my body was very sore as if I had received a beating, despite the fact that the impact with the ground was received with my right shoulder. It was nothing serious, what was serious was that I fractured my index finger on my left hand, I had to be in a splint for 2 weeks, then I had to do a lot of exercises to recover its mobility, after a long time and I leave debts and little problems I finally managed to buy the power source for my PC and friend Leoncio who can be found here as @yushirogowa went to my house and did maintenance on my computer.

I had my computer operational again, I was testing it for a day to see if it was still going well, I remember that when I was updating the publication of this same Post, I noticed something strange and that is that my computer was repeatedly not allowing me to save, I restarted it and things got worse because the monitor did not show an image, I call my friend Leoncio explaining the situation, he comes the next day examines my pc and gives me the bad news that the 1 terabyte hard drive was damaged, which means that all I lost the information I had on it, all my photos, editable, everything was lost, and again I had run out of computer, this time I felt very sad for all the data I lost, several days passed in which I was very unmotivated, until my friend leo lent me an old 150 Gb disk, to have the computer operational again and could work with it, and to a surprise he told me that he had a backup of my information which was very old like from ago 2 years, so I was able to recover 10% of the data that I had lost, which is better than nothing, but despite this I decided not to use the computer until I bought a power protector, I could not allow that accident to happen again Several days passed but I managed to buy the protector and I was able to turn on my PC safely, and luckily because the power failures continued sporadically but unpredictably, but now I am sure that my PC will not break down again due to this situation, and I was finally able to resume this publication that I should have finished four months ago.

Separadores para Web-01.png

Making a mural with chalk

As I already vented telling everything that happened to me during my disappearance, it's time to talk to you about what I wanted to show you 4 months ago, which is a humorous caricature portrait in chalk for a restaurant mural.

2.jpg

This other one consisted of a portrait of the owner of the restaurant and his brother who is also a chef, he gave me creative freedom, but I needed references, so I took a picture of him, for his brother he passed me to my phone (the photo of his brother was lost to me in my hard drive incident)

3- Boceto.png

I did the sketch in the restaurant, using references from various humorous cartoons of artists and politicians on the internet, note that, in this style, the head must be made very large, about a third of the height of the body, the eyes small and each feature of the face is exaggerated as much as possible.

4.jpg

5.gif

This was the first time I had done a job with chalk with a black background, on a wall and of such a large size, the first thing I did was use white school chalk to make the sketch.

6.png

Here's how the progress from sketch to linart went.

7.png

With the sketch ready, it was time to start coloring, you didn't have the chalks to draw on blackboards, but I had oil and pastel chalks, I wanted to use the oil chalks because I bought them for the class and it didn't work... so my plan it was to use oil chalks, that's why I saw tutorials on how to use them, and when I started using them on the wall, it was a total disaster, the tones didn't adhere well, it couldn't be blended (blurring is everything for this technique) and for to complete, it formed a film that did not allow more colors to be applied, and unlike normal chalks, these did not erase with a tissue or with water, I had to scrape everything that I had done with a knife, to be able to start using this one again time the pastel chalks.

Since I spent the rest of the day cleaning the wall, I had to come another day to start again, I went from top to bottom, the pastel chalks are not indicated for this type of texture, it was wonderful with them, I used 4 tones for the face, black and gray chalk for the beret and use white school chalk for the clothes.

8.png

I continued with the apron, but I added purple tones to complete the shadows, I'm not used to working with a dark background, because you have to start by applying the lights, complete the arms using the combination that you use with the face, for the pants I used two shades of blue, one light and one dark, for the frying pan and shoes I did it with chalk in gray tones.

9.png

As I had already finished with the first cartoon portrait, I start with the brother's portrait, and I start it by applying everything I did with the first drawing and in the same way, when I finish the face, I notice the difference in colors with the previous one drawing, as in this one I did not have the accident with the oil chalks, the colors were fixed much better.

10.png

In this drawing he holds with his hand a mixture of a sword with a spatula, it is a funny element that I took from the reference photo in which he was holding a sword, I made the metallic tones with gray and white chalk and using the black tone as shadows from the wall, on the handle I used orange, yellow and a bit of brown to capture the gold, the rest of the clothes I did in the same way that I did with the previous drawing.

11.jpg

To finish I made some decorative elements with white chalk and that's how I finished this drawing for the restaurant.

I was quite proud with the result, not bad for my first time, but I am very aware that I have to improve because ultimately this work could have been much better, I saw that I have to learn to make and mix the skin tones so that they have a It looks more natural and real, but for the moment and the most important thing is that the owner of the restaurant loved his drawing, and that's really what matters ^_^

Separadores para Web-03.png

Thank you very much for reading my post

What are your criticisms and comments about this drawing, what would you improve?
Please let me know in the comments below.
I hope you liked my work
See you in a future post

Inu-Jim

Inu-Jim LOGO.png

Copyright @inu-jim – Allrightsreserved