Why I don't usually draw men? | DIGITAL ART USING MEDIBANG

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)


1602926293768.png

Have you been so into drawing a specific subject like cars, or dogs or females or males? When I was young, I tried creating some cartoony and anime-like portraits and some objects, an example of such are fruits, flowers, vases and other things in my surrounding. As time goes by, I felt an eagerness to learn to draw portraits in a realistic approach not just for my school related project compliance but because of my will. I started searching some videos which could help me in learning along the way. It wasn't easy for there are a lot of drawbacks, doubts and fear. There are days when I really feel to draw and won't stop holding my pencil but of course there are also days which are totally opposite.

8th grade. It is when I notice that usually I figure out how to draw women over men. My friends ask me, "Why I don't usually draw men?" When I tried drawing males sometimes it kinda look like a female and I find it very new to me because the features are notably different from women which includes the hair, facial structures and its figure so it is so easy for me to fall into a routine to draw women or females or ladies or girls.

Personally, I draw females for "familiarity and mastery". I want to get used to this kind of subject so that my hand will just go on autopilot and in the long run, I want to master in creating women portraits. I knew and met people who draw males quite often and some might be into monsters or horror theme or sci-fi or abstract. In the end of day, it's your choice on what would be your content is.

If you want to see the process of my attempt to paint a man then dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png

20201017_174538_0000.png

Smart Phone


I used my vivo smartphone and if you want to try the software then you can install it too.

Medibang Paint app

Medibang Paint is a FREE digital painting and comic creation software. It's available for Android phones in Google play store. Even though it's free it comes loaded with features.

MediBang Paint includes everything you need to illustrate or make comics. They also have various brushes for you to use like the GPen, pencil and more for inking, and the Watercolor brush for coloring. Each brush has various settings so they can be customized to your liking.

BRUSHES
Airbrush
Pencil
Watercolor wet

20201017_174538_0003.png

If you have visited my blog you might say that my first digital art was a women because I posted about "My First Ever Digital Phone Art". Yes, you are also right but my first ever digital art was created using my laptop and it was a male who is Tom Ellis.

Thomas John Ellis is a Welsh actor. He is known for his roles as Gary Preston in the BBC sitcom Miranda and Lucifer Morningstar in the American series Lucifer.

1602602897852.png

During this quarantine, I also tried drawing some males for a couple of times in my sketchbook for practice. Two days ago, I decided to digitally paint a male actor named Hero Fiennes Tiffin and I managed to find a close up picture of him as my reference.

Hero Beauregard Faulkner Fiennes Tiffin is an English actor and model. He is known for his starring role as Hardin Scott in the After film series. He also portrayed 11-year-old Tom Riddle, the young version of the antagonist Lord Voldemort, in the film Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.


1602604088476.png

As usual, I made the outline of my drawing and started to color it in a very messy way. I tried to identify the parts where I have to place a specific color shade. Afterwhich, I tried blending the colors to have a smooth and clean result.

After blending the colors, switching from brush to brush and setting different opacity, finally, I am done. I hope you enjoy my short walk through about this portrait. If you want to make a version of this portrait then, just click the red word "reference" above.

20201017_174538_0001.png

20201018_092400_0000.png


20201018_092400_0001.png


20201017_174538_0002.png

dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR

dividers-04.png
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, 20 years old which means that I am no longer a teenager! I am a self taught artist, if you consider me as one. I am the only daughter of my loving and little uptight parents. Plus, the one and only sister of my naughty, messy and nasty three brothers. I am a student in Cebu Normal University- Main Campus who wishes to complete the program of Bachelor of Secondary Education Major in Science, to cut it short, I want to be a teacher someday. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.