Watercolor portrait with sand

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Here is another one small portrait 20x20cm I made in watercolor on canvas.
I am posting these close ups so it would be able to see pencil work and materials added with watercolor.



IMG_41631a.jpg



Here is close view where I used acrylic paste with acrylic to make more 3D illusion for a hair.
It reacts good with watercolor. Tone of color becomes a bit lighter on acrylic, so you need to find out your own measure.



Send used for background is mixed also with pure white acrylic color and painted on canvas.
This kind of sand was some kind of deco send and too big, but at the time it was only one I had :)
Few days ago I found smaller grains, like one used in construction industry. Sand can harm your brush, so when applying layers with sand use some brush you don't care about a lot.



IMG_41631b.jpg



And here is final piece. Still you can see pencil strokes that I left on purpose on this one. It's up to you will you leave your pencil drawing under watercolor or you will erase it.
Somehow I wait till the end to see what to do with it. Just a question of personal feelings.



IMG_41631bc.jpg



Thank you!



Facebook

Instagram

Saatchi art



Sort:  

👋 Hi @jungwatercolor, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Interesting technique! I really like it 😍

Thank you! It is interesting and playful indeed.

 4 years ago (edited) 

I'm just loving your page... followed and done

Thank you :) I am happy you are enjoying :)

That added a really cool effect. I always hesitate on using mixed media. I suppose my confidence isn't there yet. Nice job with the ears.. I always seem to mess those up, and one of the reasons I hate putting people into my creations. See ya around!

:))) hahaha yes, ears can be sometimes trouble. Understand you, but I have some miles in art and my spirit is not calm one, so I love to experiment, even it comes with some cost.
But I love to paint portraits so ears aren't such a trouble when you learn how to handle them.

I suppose your right. I’ll just have to practice practice practice. The problem with ears are that they are always listening 👂🏻 hehe

:) you reminded me on one great thing I read today..
it says;
You need 10 years of hard work for that success that happens over night!
So, that's only recipe I have, work, work, and work more :)