Celebrating Alien Day w/ original artwork!

in OnChainArt2 years ago

Happy Alien Day, Hive! I’ll get to the celebration soon, but let me get the baggage out of the way first. Finally, after Matrix-style dodging it for two years, I finally succumb to COVID. Very few symptoms, in fact, the night I’d tested positive, I had just finished an 800 calorie workout during kickboxing feeling about the same as always. Obviously, I altered the gym staff the following morning so they could go through possible exposure protocols, but other than some congestion and mild joint pain that only lasted a day, it was barely noticeable for me. In fact, I wouldn’t have even tested if it wasn’t for the fact that a few of my friends I saw during Viva were positive.

I’ll be spending the next few days home until I test negative again. During this time, I’ll be working on various @mirrorpool projects and a new offering for the Dark Pinup NFT set to support Act Two that’s still on sale. As always, one of primary focuses in life in general is getting back to illustration and comics, and that’s what I’m looking to share with you all tonight. Last year, while still working with @facingsofficial, @swarddraws and I were hired to create a series of Alien pieces of art for a client. As far as comic work goes, this was as big of a deal for us as working on Garbage Pail Kids.

I went through the first few Alien films and tried to distill the franchise down to five iconic images or solid concepts. Together, @swarddraws and I ended up with the Queen, a xenomorph, a face hugger, the engineer […which later was elaborated on in Prometheus] and the derelict ship. I bought a couple of Giger art books and watched, “Memory”, the documentary by Legion M. This had to be a strong showing and in some ways, I felt like I had to punch above my weight class. I’m really happy with these and I’d consider them some of, if not my best work of all of 2021.

In addition to celebrating Alien Day, just bringing these out and sharing them is encouraging me to hold myself to a higher standard for the work I’m going to be grinding on during the rest of this unfortunate quarantine. My approach to my art is always a process that makes me feel lost until I finally find the right composition […which is usually by accident]. These pieces remind me to just trust in that abstract process and that I’ll eventually discover something if I stay with it. Thanks for reading and I’m glad I got to show these off on this special day.

Sort:  

Great work! Reminds me of the original concept art

Hope the COVID is not too bad. I've avoided it so far. The Alien design is classic and you did a great tribute to it.

It hasn't been bad, @steevc. This has been the first day that I'd actually say I felt sick at all. Thanks, man. I'm really happy with these, especially the Queen.

Firstly, get well soon. I am sure that focusing on these during the quarantine days will speed up your overcoming of the abstract process and new things will emerge.

These pieces are very creative. Good luck.

Thanks, @kedi! I'm feeling alright. I'm sure it'll be a quick recovery. Thanks for the comment on the work.

Guess the bullet hell will get everyone eventually 🤣 sounds like you got the easy version at least 🙃 (or your immune system could kick it to the kerb either way)

Man the level of detail in these makes my hand hurt. They look amazing.

Yeah, personally, I think it's much healthier for everyone to think of COVID as an endemic inevitability, @ryivhnn. Trying to imagine a zero COVID future just isn't realistic and that impractical expectation creates so much anxiety.

Ah! Thank you! I appreciate that. Sometimes with the armor details, its easy to get lost. It's so soothing and therapeutic.

I've actually never seen any of the Alien movies. Which I know is probably pretty shocking. I am honestly a little embarrassed to even admit that. I need to fix that sometime, but it is usually rare that I have enough time to sit down and watch a full movie. I might have to split it up over several days or something. Nice pieces! Take it easy and get well soon!

Oh, yeah! Make the time to do that, @bozz. Especially the first two. Like many franchises, they do start to trail off a bit after the second one. Classic, though. Thanks for the well wishes!

yoooo, love your inking style, just using light and dark to bring out forms, is amazing, great work man

@victoradebiyiart, I'm a big fan of Jonathan Glapion and Sandra Hope so I study their inking style a lot. If you like these, you should check out their work. Thank you!

Speedy recovery my friend!!

Thanks, @blewitt! I'm doing good. Already over this quarantine, though.

Yeah that’s the shitty part. Although when I quarantined last year, I played a weeks worth of Red Dead 2 which was awesome. Haven’t touched it since though. Come on sickness!!!! lol

Firstly, I'm so sorry about covid, at least you'll have some downtime to work and use it as a little 'mini break' :)

The detail in your drawings is amazing and you sound like , per usual, are very busy. Good luck with all of it @kommienezuspadt

super dope comic style!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Rehived!