White cow from India - painting

in OnChainArt2 months ago

White cow from India, Acrylic and pastels on paper, 21x29 cm, Dez. 2023
Kuhmaske - progress.JPG

I wanted to take something with me from India, so I painted this cow mask, from one shop in Thekkady:
IMG_9570.JPG

First a preliminary drawing with white chalk:
Weisse Kuh - wip (2).JPG

Weisse Kuh - wip (3).JPG

Weisse Kuh - wip (4).JPG

Weisse Kuh - wip (1).JPG

Weisse Kuh - wip (5).JPG
The language Malayalam (spoken in the southern Indian state of Kerala) seems very, very difficult but I liked the Malayalam script.
So I asked the staff at Chill Valley how to write "The white cow of Kerala, India" - and my name.
At first I practiced in my sketch book before I wrote it down on my painting.
Weisse Kuh Maske.JPG
Thanks everyone! <3
Cheers!

Sort:  

Quite apart from the fact that some prankster has clipped the poor cow's horns, she makes a very happy impression despite her handicap. At least with what her stylist has conjured up from her face.
What are these masks used for or for what occasion?
Do cows like this also dare to go on the (cow)-catwalk?

I don't know, the only cows I saw were grazing on the side of the road and seemed calm and happy. The masks are only for hanging on the wall. I only know that white cows are revered as holy in India because little Krishna played with them.

 2 months ago (edited) 

Vielleicht kannst so eine selber machen - Papiermaschee? dann anmalen?
https://de.wikihow.com/Papiermach%C3%A9-herstellen

Schnitzen aus Holz würde ich nicht empfehlen - will nicht dass du dir die Finger abschneidest, die brauchst noch zum malen!

Danke! Ich dachte aus Ton zu machen, dann habe ich es gemalt.

Wow!! This is super impressive and it looked so real.

Good job dear friend!