The Funny yet Badass Hanamichi Sakuragi

in OnChainArtlast year

Are you a 90's kid who loves watching anime before? If so, I'm sure this guy brings back the memories of your childhood or teenage years. I felt the nostalgia while I'm drawing Hanamichi Sakuragi, the main character of a sports anime, Slam Dunk. It started airing here way back 2001. I was high school that time.

Sakuragi got dumped by 50 women in his junior high school days. He started to hate basketball when the last girl who dumped him told him that she will take another guy, which is a basketball player for her boyfriend. On his first year in high school, he met a girl named Haruko who saw his potential in basketball because of his strength and speed, which he developed from years of brawling with some bad guys. He also jumps high, which is another reason why Haruko encouraged him to join the basketball club.

He started as a stubborn newbie who causes a lot of trouble to the team while he proclaims himself to be a basketball genius. The captain would beat him up to stop him from causing troubles. The best part of the show is Sakuragi's character development despite being a troublemaker. He works really hard for Haruko who he loves dearly. He turned into a king of rebound, keeping in mind that the captain told him that the one who controls the rebound controls the game. During the official matches, he would initially give you a good laugh with his crazy antics especially when he's distracted. But later on, he would get serious as he concentrates on the game and this brings a lot of surprises. He brings out his potential with skills that are unexpected from a newbie as a result of his hard work while he's being trained. He is a fast learner for a normal newbie. A lot of times, he's the one who unexpectedly turned the tables around for the team during hard times because he improves a lot in a short period of time. Their team landed on the 2nd place during the tournament, which became their ticket to the nationals.

I'm personally a Sakuragi fan. He really makes me laugh my ass off each time I watch Slam Dunk because of his crazy antics. I also love how badass he is when he beats up the bad guys who pick on him as well as his badass character development. I love characters who can be both extremely funny and badass at the same time. I'm so glad that he' the main character. I get to see him in every single episode. I was able to complete all the 101 episodes of Slam Dunk. I love the story. I keep on rewatching its Tagalog dub in Bilibili app. It's so hilarious.

I dedicate this drawing to my friend who is also a fellow fan. Since she lives in a far province, I shipped it to her like what I did to the drawing in my previous article. This drawing is based on one of the scenes in the anime. This is the face I like most among Sakuragi's photos so I drew it. I even have a poster of this one, which was given to me by a fellow anime collector. Below is the drawing process I did for Sakuragi. It's the same as the one I did for Lelouch from my previous article since this is also a hybrid traditional and digital drawing. The explanation of the drawing process is the same with my previous article. https://peakd.com/hive-156509/@kris11/the-main-character-and-villain-lelouch-lamperouge

PENCIL

275105559_700030880996479_5854734641673358483_n.jpg

LINEART

274773420_333178882194486_7436040165818205607_n.png

BASE COLORS

274747839_2887215441570660_5409906234550537328_n.png

BACKGROUND AND HIGHLIGHTS

Hanamichi Sakuragi.png

FINAL RESULT

275188451_660249618623863_3022498010243695541_n.png

FOR SHIPPING

20230304_115820.jpg

I shipped this drawing the same day I shipped Lelouch to another friend. She received the drawing in a few days. She was very happy when she updated me. She said Sakuragi is so handsome. She plans to find someone who customizes frames. The certificate holder will be the protection while the drawing is not yet framed. It's a protection from both scratch and fade. I'm so glad that it was successfully delivered to her in excellent condition. I'm happy to know that she likes it very much as a remembrance. Another successful dedication made a friend happy.

Sort:  

So cool, I love Slam Dunk and this artwork looks amazing. Great job!

Thanks. I love the nostalgia that slam dunk brings. The story is so funny too. I just hope the author will change the ending. I would love it if shohoku becomes the champion and they all become part of the junior Japan team.

Galing ng shading!! Hello, Kris!! 🥰

Salamat sis. Ang ganda ng reference kasi nyan. Nagustuhan ko yung shading kaya sinundan ko. Nice to see you.

Congratulations @kris11! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!