Crystal Cave- 30 min Sketch #16

in OnChainArt4 years ago

5.jpg

Hello guys, I took a week off from 30min sketches, but I finally did a few today. I'm done playing Terraria and was feeling a bit melancholic. Like when you finish a book series and know there won't be more. Do you get the feeling with movies/books/shows/games?

Ref: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/792985446877732859/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/583005114247229034/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/568790627937525712/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/527413806341083442/

I'm fortunate that I work from home and I can take breaks when I want/need and when I feel motivated I make up for the missed time. I get highs and lows in motivation constantly and I try to accept it, since alternative frustration doesn't help anyways. Are you consistent with your creative work?

1.jpg

For Daily Spitpaints there are 4 new themes every day and I picked Crystal cave, since it was easiest for me. I've painted crystal caves several times before.

2.jpg

I've been using a lot of blues in these sketches, I plan to use them more until I feel I've mastered them.

3.jpg

The main challenge was getting the sense of depth. In general what's closer appears stronger/darker/more saturated. However, since there is no proper light source, I inverted this "rule".

I wasn't exactly sure of the brush strokes, but I just relaxed and didn't think too much about it. These sketches are meant more as exploration than finished works. I've been considering trying more style variations, will see how that goes :D

4.jpg

Thank you for checking out! ^_^

Sort:  

Great

 4 years ago  

Thank you!

Welcome

Nice - What are you doing with these sketches?

 4 years ago  

Thank you :) it's practice to improve my composition skills, speed and color choices.

You using Noah Bradley's Art Camp?

 4 years ago  

No, I'd love to but it's expensive :)

Yea, you'd have to save up your HIVE and try to sell the byproducts of your studies as NFTs in ETH and also post your regular process throughout the 12 weeks on your HIVE blog.

I bet the results would be pretty impressive, and affordable.

Would you like to do a challenge like that with me -- I think I"ll be doing that exact thing, pretty soon. Maybe a month or so from now.

 4 years ago  

sell the byproducts of your studies as NFTs in ETH

Can you please share more info and for the challenge? Don't think I understand it ^^

Loading...

Wow, pretty amazing for just 30 minutes of sketching ❤️. I'm petrified (in a good way XD ) at what might happen if I need to compete against you, given maybe an hour or two!

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D Do you draw?

I used to do a lot of sketching back in school, mostly drawing pictures of guns and battles, as I've learned from countless hours on the PS2. It's not something I've paid attention to since, but my lil' brother makes some sick artwork! I'm still trying to convince him to post them online...