The Hidden Past- Art Process

in OnChainArt2 years ago

Hi everyone! This is my latest Adventure Series artwork <3 I've been working on it for a while as I kept making changes and adding various details. Hope you enjoy this post!

The Hidden Past
https://superrare.com/artwork-v2/the-hidden-past-33236

A Hidden Past.jpg

It has been a while since my last detailed art process blog post, so this post will be more images than text. I've been having a hard time writing lately, can't seem to find the right words to express what's on my mind. I certainly miss blogging, as it often helped me organize my thoughts. I'll try posting more, hoping my writing improves.

image.png

These are a couple of close ups of the painting.

image.png

Behind the lush wild foliage, the hero could make out the faint carvings of an ancient wall. It protected a long forgotten city, lost even to the collective memory, deliberately wiped from most books and legends. Yet it stood there, withstanding the unforgiving millennia and many struggles. Countless conquerors failed to penetrate these walls, and not a single fracture or crevice has ever been found. Some believed uttering the city's true name would open its gates to the world. Moreover, hose who listened really carefully, could hear sounds like a muffled busy market, but maybe those were echoes of the past.

Untitled-3.jpg

I often write the description based on my current events and feelings. Sometimes I might write and save the text for one of the future paintings. I keep the story vague as I want the viewers to find their own meaning in the story, to connect with it on different levels.

Untitled-3B.jpg

Detailing can be really meditative. I've tried meditation so many times, but I can never make it into a habit. I found that visualization and painting are most natural forms of meditation for me.

B.jpg

I consider a lot of variations when doing these paintings, because even if I don't use them in this painting, I can use the ideas for the future paintings. It can be difficult to let go of ideas, because with limited time there is only so much you can ever do. I'm working on my prioritizing skills, but it's definitely difficult.

D.jpg

I love this cyan palette and intend to use it for another future painting. I almost went with this color adjustment, but after a lot of consideration I decided to stick to my original colors.

You can check all of my previous Adventure art here:
https://www.kristyglas.com/adventure-series/

image.png

Thank you for checking out <3

Sort:  

It’s so beautiful~~ I love it 😍

 2 years ago  

Thank you!!

Amazing color @kristyglas and I like the process.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much! Hope you've been well <3

Wow, this is amazing. And so eye-catching. Definitely the cyan should have stayed, it works brilliantly. And the contrast on natural irregular lines of the foliage with the crisp, structured lines of the artificial door is a wonderful juxtaposition.

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Thank you! I'll use the cyan palette in another Adventure artwork :D It was definitely a hard choice. I tried making a short animation where it transitions between the two versions, but I'd have to sacrifice the quality and all of the details, so I went with the static version.

I like your art, I like the way in which even when painting a dark illustration, the brushstrokes stand out with a lot of light, as if they were phosphorescent colors and that sensation of mystery that it gives is very fascinating. nice work I hope you keep uploading your art to hive, daily or 6 times a day at least XD

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@anikekirsten(2/15) tipped @kristyglas (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!