Still Life collection

in OnChainArtlast year

IMG_20221110_002228.jpg

Some time ago I started documenting still-life compositions that I'm arranging for my students.
Some of them are more advanced than others, and some of them I don't document at all - mainly because of the student's age (level) they are not as interesting to post here.

IMG_20230210_140156.jpg

Making a composition is something I'm actively developing, and it brings me much joy as the lines are arranged sensibly. Usually, the still life stays in one position for 2-3 hours (time of class), as I don't have a place that could be used solely to be nice looking (and dust-catching).

IMG_20230104_192632.jpg

Complex and 'chaotic' comps are my favourites. I collect many weird or funny-looking things and antics so I can play with their structure, texture, and light-catching abilities. Some of the things I bring home have no useful purpose other than to be drawn or painted later.

IMG_20201023_165300.jpg

Each time I try to set as many different shapes and structures as I can so my students can observe how various surfaces react to light and each other. Some are matte, some are shiny and reflective, some are fluffy and some are solid. I compare fruits to metal elements and soft blankets to glass.

IMG_20221124_144117.jpg

I also use A LOT of empty boxes. They are just perfect for practicing skills at early stages as they are brain crackers for people without basic knowledge of perspective - yet still, they're the easiest subjects to practice it.

IMG_20221206_154606.jpg

As you can see, some artistic mess is involved in the process. Also, you can see @misteriada banner in the back of my room. It's a project I work on since 2019 and it's about personal growth and spirituality. Feel free to check it, articles published there are mostly my work but also the work of my dear friends who are making it with me and my husband.

IMG_20220216_192327.jpg

If you like any of the compositions, feel free to use them in your artistic project or everyday practice. If you share any of the results, it would be nice to mention me so I can see how fabulous is your progress but it's not necessary ;)

Have a great week!

Sort:  

Congratulations @leiaothake! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - February 15, 2023
Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your compositions are very eye-catching! In a way, each one is like a playground of shapes, colors, and textures. If only all art instructors put this much thought into their still-lifes 🧡.

Thank you! I'm flattered :)
I remember what it looked like when I was in school (compositions were truly magnificent and full of fantastic details) and later in the university, they were like... meh. But it was also a challenge to paint three pots/bottles straight next to each other on a whiteboard 😂😅

I have also had that experience of being given a "lifeless" still life to draw for an assignment. It really kills the motivation! There's a fine line between putting in the necessary work to improve and wringing out the passion of the artist, in my opinion.

It's great that you came up with all of these because making art should be fun, and your compositions give the viewer plenty of opportunity to have fun. : )