The Middle Ground

in OnChainArt4 years ago

IMG_2147xswm.jpg

Drawing on toned paper makes it easier to quickly build up form and volume because the paper provides the midtones. All I have to do then is focus on the lights and darks, with a white Conte / pastel pencil and a dark pencil (colour depends upon the paper tone).

Figure34xswm.jpg

Using coloured paper was a quite a revolution for me when a friend showed me their drawings. For a long while I left graphite pencils alone because of the work involved in building the building an image up.

IMG_1897xswm.jpg

Although I like the result, working on small images with the Conte / pastel pencils was frustrating because you couldn't get the razor sharp details possible with sharpened graphite pencil. So at the time of writing this article I've gone back to graphite for a time.

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Gorgeous work @leoplaw! Thanks for sharing.

It looks awesome, Leo. I've never worked with toned paper but I really like your results.

Awesome drawings, there aren't many better objects to draw than women in my opinion...

Simply wonderful! I like to exercise my hands on toned paper, but my results are not excellent like yours. Love them ❤️

Estas recibiendo nuestro voto y tu publicación aparecerá en nuestro reporte de curación.

mayvileros logo nuevo.png¡¡¡Felicidades!!!

Very beautiful drawings. I see you use a white pencil that reminds me of my drawings at the high school when I often used it. My favorite is the laying woman. Nice artworks!

This is really wow! Especially the first two. Did you live models or used online references?

 4 years ago  

Lovely stuff. I noticed I had problems getting value right if I started with a white background so I started making a grey mid-tone, which helped. Mind you, that's for digital. For trad, I use charcoal on white, because I just love the sharp contrasts and black on white.

Another beautiful stuff sir...