Progress pictures for my latest painting.

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow artists.

Here is a series of progress pictures for a portrait I was comissioned to paint.

This is the finished piece:

Embrace of the Jungle LibaWSweb.jpg

I started with a green glaze and wiped out areas where i wanted vegetation.

IMG_8261.JPG

I did my basic drawing on paper and then transferred it on to the canvas

IMG_8379.JPG

I then start building up the volumes with lights and darks.

IMG_8478.JPG

IMG_9142.JPG

Between the layers of white , i am adding color.
IMG_9309.JPG

IMG_9763.JPG

IMG_9771.JPG

IMG_9995.JPG

The final touches are seen in the first photo.

Thanks for looking.

https://www.artwork-liba.com/

Sort:  

Congratulations @libaws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.
You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

beautiful plastic art work congratulations

merci!!!

looks like a heaven.
so interesting.

thanks!

This is perhaps the best tutorial about the process of "mische-technique" painting you will get on this blockchain! Remember kiddos, this is how it is really done!

danke darling.xxx! It's the same idea as mische except i only use oil glazes rather than tempera (too stiff to work with) but white build up with colored glazes is the thang. ;-) x

 4 years ago (edited) 

Liba, we all do variations of it - I do the same with acrylics only, just like you do with oils only. Whereas our friend Benedetto Fellin does the underpainting with acrylics, but finishes with oil glazes. Either way, it is the way to do it, not like "paint by numbers" style of "filling in between the lines", as you see so often done here on the blockchain with "tutorials".
The thing with oils only, aside from me being allergic to most mediums, is that it takes too long to dry for me. I don't have the patience to wait that long.

Nice one, love the realness of it, so smooth😊👍

thanks! i am a little OCD when it comes to smooth ;-)

So interesting to see how you do it! The thing with the white contours and layers (don't know how to say it ^^)
I love to paint, though I don't know much about painting techniques. But I always like to learn, so your post was really helpful, thank you :-)

yay. i learn all the time. I just watched a tutorial with @petergric on decolamania. @thermoplastic gives me tips as well. Learning the mische technique is a wonderful introduction to glazing. The Vienna Academy of Art has online videos. I teach with them sometimes so my video is in their curriculum along with the one i am watching from Peter Gric.

Beautiful art Piece @libaws

merci beaucoup!

Awesome. Keep up the great work.

thanks so much! :)