Inktober: Dune

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Inktober Dune - Hahnemühle Mixed Media paper 310 g/m² 14x12 cm, Diamine drawing & calligraphy ink in Jet Black, Pigma micro pigment ink brush, Pigma Micron ink rapidograph 04, Faber-Castell pencil 2B, Derwent Graphik Line Painter 0.5 Snow, Grene Art synthetic watercolor brush 4

Hello strangers! In my previous Inktober post, I mentioned that I am planning to do only a few of this year’s prompts. Looking through the list, Dune was one of those that sparked my interest. Yea, yea, it is supposed to be a challenge by drawing things you usually would not even think of drawing, but as a complete beginner to ink drawings and in general, being slow with creating my pieces, I decided to take a bit more chill approach. And so I got to experiment with my new supplies on this one as well. New inks, new brushes, and liners! Christmas in October xD


The new Diamine ink in Jet Black is my new favorite! It is cooler-toned ink in comparison to the other one I used before. I also got Diamine in purple and can’t wait to put that to use. It is acrylic ink, so the finish is a lot shinier too. Now, now! Don’t laugh about my tape setup! I bought this tape some time ago from the art supply shop that was supposed to be for watercolor paper or something, but luckily I tested it before actually tapping my drawing down to the table. It’s too strong and rips the paper apart when removing it. A bit disappointing. Any suggestions for a better tape?

I was quite excited to try out the white pens and liners and dotted happily over the lighter areas of the underlying ink. The effect reminded me of something like pixie dust. Eh. Don’t ask! xD I also used the white liner for the stars. And I learned the hard way that liner is not the best tool for dotting despite the successful result. It has Japan Nib, and the liquid pigment tends to build up and leak, which can lead to an unexpected giant, white drop in the middle of your artwork. Shieeeeet! However, that also can be fixed since it’s water-based, after quite a freakout, of course.

Same Dune from parallel universe 11 x 10 cm

Thank you for having a peek in my post! Until next time!

Song of the day: Metallica - Turn The Page

Sort:  

The art looks quite captivating. Reminds me of a manga.

Thank you so much! Oh I can only dream to be as good as manga artists one day. They are brilliant. I'm still finding myself or molding myself :)

Your art is awesome! You need to start selling it, it might motivate u more to draw/ink/...

You have your cool style and me likes it :))

  • Spacely

That is so sweet! Thank you, Mr. Spacely! But I'm not doing much digital stuffs. Isn't that more for those peeps these days? NFTS and such.

Oh you might like the next one I plan post tomorrow ahaha! I think xD

I think that's not only for digital art but for any art. If it is only for digital, then fuck NFTs :D :D

Imma be w8 for the next one! :D

I like that one a lot. I like the negative space and the pointalism technique. It turned out teally well. Nice job

Thank you! ^^ I am always a bit drawn to artwork with negative spaces, there's so much to learn about it still, but I am glad to have achieved something that resembles it :)

This is a cool piece. It has a print feel to it, like something from the 1920s.

Thank you! :*

A bit retro? I keep thinking about something old sci-fi, when I look at them myself.

This is really cool. It looks like its made with the engraving technique because the lines are so clean . Good work.
I wish I was there it looks so peaceful :)

It looks lovely!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Hugs Kitten! Is teddy warming your paws?