Strange Creatures: Cloud Peacock

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Cloud Peacock - Hahnemühle Mixed Media paper 310 g/m² 10x10 cm, Sonnet watercolors, Royal Talens liquid watercolor in Ultramarine

What’s the answer to life, the universe, and everything? 42, of course! I’m sure @josie2214 and @emilclaudell would both agree as they chose 4 for the animal and 2 for the thing. Technically, a peacock is a bird, I know, but a creature nonetheless. And this is a strange one too with its cloudy tail. Imagine looking up at the sky, seeing the clouds, but out of the blue, two peacock legs pop out! Surprise! It was such a joy to slowly work and build on the marbely and yet soft texture of clouds and the bird itself. I am quite pleased with how it turned out. What do you think?


I haven’t been super active lately and it is due to me not being too well. It is not covid, but there are a lot of unknowns, waiting around, and anxiety and I just haven’t been able to function well enough most days. It is frustrating. I wish I could gather my scattered energy a bit better than what I can right now and I wish I could just know the answers sooner rather than later. Heh. How are you able to stay strong through the weakness and fragility?

Anyway. Cloud Peacock is the 4th Strange Creature unlocked and it made me happy to be able to work on it. But there are 7 more to come! What are they going to look like? Well, you, my friend just might be the one who determines that by choosing one number from each list down below and writing them in the comments.

Creatures list: 2 3 5 6 7 8 10
Things list: 4 5 6 7 9 10 11

You pick the numbers, I reveal what’s behind them in the next Creatures post by choosing one winner from the comments.

Until next time! Hope you enjoy these as much as I do ^^

The process and tools

The colors I used for this strange creature

Strange Creatures so far: Robot Moose, Moon Raccoon, Wave Elephant, and Cloud Peacock

Song of the day: BTS - Dynamite

Sort:  

Cool bird :D It reminds me a bit of the game people play where they find animals in clouds. Very nice colours and looks quite soft and puffy ^_^ I bet it would feel cool to poke it. I am not sure how the peacock would feel about that though.

Technically, a peacock is a bird, I know, but a creature nonetheless.

According to Wikipedia, peafowl find themselves in the family Phasianidae (along with the more plain-looking, but ostensibly tastier chickens and turkeys), of the order Galliformes, of the class Aves (birds!), of the phylum Chordata, of the kingdom Animalia.

So, you may rest assured that a peacock is, in fact, an animal.

The scientific classification of a cloud-peacock hybrid, on the other hand, is up in the air.

I'm sorry you're feeling unwell, but I'm glad you're still finding the energy to create. It's important not to lose yourself in stuff like that. We're all living beings and even in the best case we'll all one day perish of one thing or another; it's best just to live while we're alive. Yadda yadda feel-good vibes... does anyone who says this stuff ever actually deal with existential dread? It's terrifying. I'm laughing at how much of an idiot I sound like. Regardless, it is objectively true that worrying is fruitless, so I guess try to stop or something?

And that's the problem I have with saying things like that. It's either everything will be fine (talking from ass), or just stop worrying. It reminds me of I'll pray for you. Empty sayings which serve to relieve the speaker of an empathetic burden, but leave the actually affected individual to sit there and say.... "ok? Uh, thanks."

Do take care of yourself, m, and feel better soon. I look forward to the next creature, which maybe this time will be a combination of animal number seven and thing number eleven...?

Exactly what I thought, but imagine if there was an actual creature hiding in the sky among the clouds. What a great world would that be. Like Neverland or the Wonderland, where all the things we can imagine can be an actual reality. Not the terror and nightmares, but childlike things I mean. Perhaps, when virtual reality worlds will take over, that's is where the humanity will play around.

Ahaha yay! Still a critter of Earth, that's for sure! ^^

It is like they say, you hit 30 and it's only downhill from there lol. Nah. I mean, is what it is. I try to defuse my worries with irony and just laugh at it. That is of course when I manage to get my head out of space of being miserable ball of sadness and angst xD Human emotions suck.

Hugs It means a lot that someone cares. Thank you.

Meh. Will see I guess. What I hate is waiting and seems like there is always some sort of waiting in life. I still have not learned how to deal with waiting and want the answers immediately.

I miss the 7 11 snacks xD

Hehe, I do like to imagine one day that we'll be able to link in with our brains directly into some sort of virtual reality world.

The coolest thing about something like that, to me, is just how many physical limitations we could overcome by decoupling our conscious selves from our physical bodies; even if we must remain inside them in the real world. Sure we could fly around and manifest random objects from nothing and be as "young" as we want and everything... but imagine if we could even tap into the areas of our brains that control our perception of time itself.

Imagine that one day when we were 70 years old and our bodies were frail, we could climb into some machine that put our bodies in suspended or slowed animation, but somehow recalibrated our neural impulses to maintain a normal sense of time.

The closest thing to an afterlife that we could create, maintain, and measure. A hundred years, maybe more, of a carefree and limitless retirement from reality.

Ahaha, look at what Elon is doing to piggies already with the neurolink, I'm sure that is not far away xD

Yes, please. I need that machine already.

Eh, why are all these things still just fiction? They should hurry the fuck up. I want my upload to the cloud.

Hmm... uploading... well, as previously discussed, I have my reservations about actual uploading. Just put my brain meat in some kinda anti-aging container and hook up the interface please.

I'm still not convinced an artificial brain would have that spark of conscious life. Just keep the real me alive as long as possible, then as I eventually die, sure, fine... upload me. At that point what is there to lose?

Good Artwork.

Thank you. I strive to do my best each time :)

Song of the Grey:

Anna Calvi - Jezebel

Fiery, strong vocals! I liked it :)

Ohhh i love it! I really like how well the water color works for painting clouds. They seem so soft. And the peacock is such a wonderful animal, it is so beautiful and bright. It kinda makes you wonder how in the world it evolved to this point right? You would think that such a visually noisy animal would be hunted down immediately, but so far it seems to do pretty well. But appearently Darwin really disliked them (at first at least), because they didn't really fit into his theory.

Awesome painting as always ^^

Is good work! Great!

Cloud Peacock - the prequel to Cloud Atlas.

Hope you feel better soon and the creativity flow returns :)

4,11 :*

Ahaha! I remember watching Cloud Atlas, but I don't remember anything from the movie xD I guess I should rewatch it or something. Funny how some memories fade like that.

Thank youuu! :* Will try even tho lately it has been wakes up - not happening today!

Beautiful! Hmm how to stay strong during weakness? Find your why and your what. What fuels you, which are your wildest dreams, how will you get there? If you have one single desire, a strong one and faith, it will lift you in your lowest low. I have been through a lot and I must tell you that faith helped me. And believing in my dreams. It's hard. But it will pass.

Thank you @creativemary! :)

Those are some good things to think about and I can see how it could help push through dark times. Maybe I focus too much on thinking how the darkness might take a while too much? Which pulls me down the path of desperation and then I just turn into ball of sadness. I guess it is also part of me looking at the lifetimes of countless others and how it seems sometimes that achieving happiness and something, anything at all sometimes never happen. Eh. Got to shake it off somehow? I will try and think about my whys and whats! Thank you for your advice Mary! Hugs

My pleasure, I hope it helps, it helped me in my desperation times and I know how lonely, scary and frightening it can be to go down that path. Hugs and have a great week ahead! 💐

Another cool creation. Those two topics really go well together nicely. I like the colors that you chose as well. Very well done

Aww thank you @leaky20! Yea, I am still amazed about the cool creature combinations that I had the chance to work on! Ah and I love working with blues and greens a lot, generally prefer cooler tones for some reason. Watercolors are so fun, the way they interact with water and unravel the patterns right before your eyes. Love, love this medium and hopefully I am improving over time.

That's a breathtaking painting of Mark Wahlberg you've done.

Nailed it, didn't I? Ahahaha! What movie is this? I don't think I have seen this before lol. Funny thing is, that peacocks apparently don't fly so well, only like short distances mostly to get up in trees or down xD

It's from a movie called The Other Guys. It's a comedy movie from, like, 2010?

My fiancee has done some paintings that I wanna share on here, but I've been too lazy to go downstairs and take some good quality pictures of them. She even did one of us as as types of fish that she thought were fitting to our personality.

And, by personality, I mean she turned me into a fucking piranha because she thinks my teeth are too sharp :)

Oh sweet! Maybe that's the next film I'm going to watch to keep my brain occupied and away from stupid thoughts.

Now you got to stop being lazy and take them pictures, because now I am curious about these paintings! Wanna see the Piranha :D Ahahah!

I'll make you a list of films to check out and send them on Twitter if you need some stuff to watch. That's helped me out a lot in recent times.

Yeah, I might not be a sloth and take some pics soon. I like showing off her artwork, plus, you know, all that sweeeeet Hive.

How are you able to stay strong through the weakness and fragility?

  • I've been continuing to keep fit through regular exercise.
  • Earthing, in my backyard by planting my bare feet on the earth, almost daily.
  • Meditating.
  • Feeding stray cats (Helps keep me grateful for not being homeless)
  • Howling at the moon in the wee hours, while standing on my head in the middle of the road...naked...

I feed birds, no howling lol

Well...should you decide to howl, perhaps it's best you don't do it while feeding those birds...???

All of those sound great xD

Apart from howling at the moon and feeding kitties (I feed my home kitty), I've been doing the other things you mention until recently. I am still trying to do those things, but it's been increasingly difficult. I hope it will pass soon or something.

Within our unique circumstances, what one is able to use as a tool for increased peace of mind, another may not. Yet, never become so forlorn that you give up the search completely @m31 … Your answers may be within sight, beckoning a closer view.

I do wish you well, friend...

I love the color once again and this is minimalistic yet a beauty!

I agree, should use bigger paper.

Thank you macchi! ^^ Yea, pretty minimalist no doubt, which for tiny thingies like these is quite a key I find. Otherwise, I feel they would not read so well and could get messy.

ah yeah, understood ! I am looking forward to the next cute little creatures from you.🌸

👋 Hi @m31, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Aww, thank you so much! Much appreciated! Yay! ^^

You did a great job with this one, I love it! :)

Thank you so much @gabrielatravels! Glad you enjoyed this one. As soon as I realized the combination of the peacock and the cloud I knew that the tail will be the odd part hehe, it is so fun to create these, I can't even put in words :)

That is the most perfect answer to life,
the universe and everything! ^^ Absolutely adore it!

I thought so too , ahaha Meaning and purpose of life - Cloud Peacock.

I just imagined that this cute creature of yours is standing on a spehere, which is imitating earth. Down below the body it rains and above at the back drop some birds flying. As the small trees flourishing on the sphere some of the birds come down and sets nests and lay eggs on them.





Posted using Dapplr

Woah, you just described a proper wonderland! Pretty cool imagery there ^^ I would not mind stepping in such world at all.

This is not odd, this is awesome.

Aww thank you! I'm glad you think so hehe! :) Brings me joy, so I hope these bring joy to others too

yes it does :)))))

It looks super sweet, awesome:)

That's so kind of you! Ah this makes me so happy that you enjoy these and so many others it seems too! Yay! Brightens my day :)

Of course, great one:)

Shared on twitter as well:

Bagus karyanya