Back in the Days When Tigers Used to Swing Dance

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)

I was on reddit one day when someone in the Korea community posted that the Korean fairytale version of 'Once Upon a Time' was 'Back in the day when tigers used to smoke cigars' ('호랑이 담배 피우던 시절'). From what my colleagues told me, the saying has its origins in that only the yangban, ruling class, used to be able to smoke as it was considered a luxury in the Joseon Dynasty. The phrase refers to a time when not only all humans were equal but also humans and animals were equal parts of nature, and tigers used to smoke cigars like the yangban. Another colleague said that it was just a phrase to indicate that the story was from so long ago that even the now unbelieveable act of tigers smoking cigars used to be possible. Who knows what happened in the past!

Inspiration - Album Art: NST & The Soul Sauce

I personally found the imagery very inspiring. It was creative and funny. Knowing the Koreans' love for all things cute and idiosyncratic, I thought 'how hilarious would it be if there was a saying "Back in the days when tigers used to swing dance"?'. I had been making some designs to put on merchandise to support my swing dance club and thought it would be cool to put a swing dance spin on such a popular expression. Not knowing if it was just me who found it funny, I sent the phrase "Back in the days when tigers used to swing dance (호랑이 스윙댄스 추던시절에)"to my friend and asked her what she thought of it. I received a whole lot of 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 as a reply. Taking that as a good sign, I went ahead and made a piece with tigers dancing.

When tigers danced_one colour_print-01.jpg

It started out as a personal joke but the idea snowballed into something bigger as so many of our friends loved it. We printed them out on t shirts and small flasks and sold them to our swing dance community to help raise funds for our bar which was suffering to pay rent because of lack of patronage during COVID times.

IMG_9054.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @manouche! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow that's really cute and funny at the same time. Loved the art and idea of merchandise!

Thanks @sahiba-rana! As a foreigner in Korea, I was not sure if it was just me who found it funny but thankfully it echoed with a lot of people!

Very cool design and great idea these t-shirt...
and I learned something today 😀

@tipu curate

Haha, thanks @heroldius! Happy that you could learn this piece of maybe non-essential information on this platform the same way that I did on reddit, haha!

I love your dancing tigers!

Thank youuuu! I'm a non-dancing tiger for now but hope to get back into it soon!

Hah I love that you made shirts out of it.
As a fan of both Tigers AND Dancing...I very much approve.