Garden

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Gardens_Comp.png

https://makersplace.com/midlet/garden-1-of-1-27359/

Something new I made and threw up just now on MakersPlace. It's pretty easy to get addicted to MP. I've been selling pieces pretty regularly and I could see this whole thing really having legs as an industry.

One of the things that bothered me at first was the idea of my work being resold at higher prices in the future, but come to find out, when you sell a piece there, you earn royalties on that piece for life. This is actually a crazy concept when you think about it because this is executed via a smart contract. These pieces could be being resold 100 years from now and the royalty would still go to that address. Blockchain is so cool.

Screenshot_2.png

I made this of course in Cinema 4D using Octane as the renderer. Nothing fancy in the generation of all the cubes, just some combinations of effectors, the fancier stuff is happening in the materials.

Screenshot_1.png

The plain English breakdown, is that each cube is assigned a random color, then those colors are remapped to a grayscale gradient, then that greyscale gradient is again remapped to a color scheme of my choosing, then that color information is piped into two different materials, and I use a simplified version of the original grayscale remap to define which material goes on which cube. Simple!

One of the funny parts for me of uploading work on MP is filling in the description. I unfortunately don't typically have some deep thoughtful reason for creating. It's just what I do, so the name and the description are random as hell and I sometimes throw in some inside joke that I wonder if anyone gets. As a Hive exclusive, I'll tell you all. I named this one "Garden" because with the colors, it made me think of a salad or something, then in the description I put "Greens, Beans, Potatoes, Tomatoes" which is from this old video.

Hopefully I'll get around to posting more, haven't had as much time lately, but I've been looking and curating all the cools stuff you've all been posting. Keep it up OCArtists!

See you all in the next post.

Sort:  

Wow this looks so cool! I think you've spent many hours working on this!

Thanks @creativemary! Yea, took a few 😊

I can see that, welcome!

Nice work!

When I saw this, the first name that came to mind was "Salad City"

The piece also reminds me of the old Kowloon Walled City in Hong Kong. Well done!

Cheers! :)


source

Yea, it looked like a salad to me too lol, but I thought garden sounded better than salad 😜

That's some mad work right there.

How long did it take to render?

It took about 3 hours since I did it at a pretty high res.

Very cool zoomed in!

Thanks! Tried to pack a lot of nice details in there.

These pieces could be being resold 100 years from now and the royalty would still go to that address.

I have known people who think it's grossly unfair that anyone and their family could profit from their work ad inifinitum who would absolutely hate this concept XD

I hope your descendants don't squander your hard work D:

I know you called it garden but it looks like a little Escheresque city XD

I don't know how to say how much I love the colors that you have used. It's like a futuristic city. Very good 👍

Wooow😍😍😍😍😍

Hi Midlet, so I know 3Ds Max, would you recomend me to know Cinema 4D also? I'm on my way to industrial design, but I also would like to do some digital artwork as you do.

Nice use of colors there btw!! so cool

Designy stuff like this is 1000x easier in C4D. If you already know 3DsMax, you can pick up the basics of C4D in a matter of days. It's a lot easier than Max/Maya or those guys.

Cool! Thanks!

I must admit that the first thing that came to my head was not a salad 😅, first I was thinking about the relativity of things, I knew that we all can interpret it in different ways and I personally related the largest geometry to the planet ⬜️, cubic and not spherical, similar to the mentality of people sometimes, and the man (the smallest figures) that although being of many colors and shapes have the same number of vertices because we are so similar 🔲 🔶 ◻️🙈

Congratulations @midlet, you are a very spontaneous artist!!, if I had to relate to a figure I think of spirals. ➰➰ 😁

I like your interpretation better than my own :)

Thanks a lot for sharing this is very cool , will give it a go !

Jaw-droppingly awesome! This does remind me a garden, in a way that can be compressed into a Mincraft block XD. It's pretty neat to know more about MakersPlace, as I only learned about it from your post not too long ago. Here I thought it was a regular online portal to buy and sell artwork, but I didn't know there was some Blockchain tech in it.

This means then that you have some credits owed for that illustration for its entire lifetime, right? With regular paintings, if its resold, then the artists gets nothing for the future. But on MP, you can still earn royalties from someone else reselling what you've made? Thus, your name is permanently attached to it, no matter where it goes?

My younger brother likes to illustrate some neat stuff, but he's never been inclined to share it too much. I wonder if he'd be interested to share them on MP, now :-)

Thanks! and yes, everything you said is how it works. You’ll forever be attached to the work as the creator and as long as it’s reselling you earn your royalty forever. Pretty cool huh.

No, it's not cool... It's amazing 😆! The power of the Blockchain never fails to astonish me.

Good work. İt is really awesome. Thanks for share it :)) @midlet

YOU NAME IT!! LOL