She Bytes

in OnChainArt3 years ago

TeraGirl_Comp.png

Before I started minting NFT's I never really created work in series before. I definitely get the appeal. Once you stumble onto a concept you like, it seems like a bit of a waste to only use it once. So here's the continuation in the series of the last piece I did. Not sure what I'll call it, but I'll probably do at least one more.

This whole issue with the gas prices on ETH is pretty illuminating on what the current issues with ETH are right now. I can't imagine how much money it costs platforms like MakersPlace that depend on artists minting and selling work. A ton of people are simply not going to be able to or want to pay these gas fees. It's nothing if you reliably sell your work for high prices, but my stuff is a bit sometimesy. I'm a terrible self shiller.

Screenshot_6.png

PS_CU.png

Process here was the same as the last post I did. 3D in Maya with Arnold's toon shader, then the bulk of the work is done in Fusion figuring out the colors and...well everything. Fusion is sooooo nice. I don't know if I've mentioned this before but Fusion is FREE, so if you want to check it out you can here.

I suppose I'll be minting this at some point, and I'd probably like to have these live on the same platform rather than having one piece from a series live on ETH and the next one live on Hive, that seems weird. In the meantime, I'll probably use this piece as an excuse to shill the piece I do have minted. If I get a higher bid on that one maybe I can justify minting this one as well.

Anyway, hope you all like. May the bull market smile upon you.

Sort:  

Aside from the toon shader it looks like this piece has a slight gric influence XD

Does the toon shader normally have that noise or is that something you've added in that node tree somewhere? It's been A Very Long Time since I've used one, the last one I used in Blender was still just cel shading.

Haha, yea I can see it, but the biggest influence was probably this artist Lee Griggs. That's where I got the idea of this sort of super booleans effect, it's something you can do in Arnold at the shader level.

The toon shaders noisiness comes from the model. The model is a dense scan and up close its a ton of tiny triangles. Since the toon shader has such a harsh edge it gives that noisy effect which was basically a happy accident.

Does the dense mesh increase your render time? Not that it matters that much for a still I guess XD

given that I am aiming to animate most of the time super dense meshes make me nervous xD

It's not a big deal with only one figure and only one frame, but an animation would probably be an issue with CPU rendering which is what I'm using here.

I like it. Gas fees are indeed an issue