Showcase Sunday: Updo Redo

in OnChainArt4 years ago

upDo1.jpg

Yesterday was my birthday. That has nothing to do with this painting, but it was. Sometimes it feels like birthdays are the gamification of life. "Achievement Unlocked! You are now lvl 38!" It feels good to have made it another year. To still have a nice sized bucket list to check off before I check out.

There's still a lot I want to do, but if I couldn't do anything else I wouldn't feel like these years have been wasted. That's the balance I always aim to maintain.

Anywhoo, this is an old painting that is a redo of an even older painting. This was version one of this painting.

upDo2.jpg

Then I don't exactly remember how much time passed, but at some point I looked at it again, and of course whenever you look back at older work, all the issues jump out at you and I took another whack at it.

I ended up liking the new version a lot more. It can be a fun exercise to grab an old piece and rework it with your current new level. Another one of the nice things about working digitally is that I can open a file that years old, and just pick right back up where I left off.

In other news, the feed in OnChainArt is looking great! Thanks to all you OnChain Artists for sharing your awesome work. Keep it up! :) This community, as well as all of HIVE is just ever moving upward. We're not sprinting, but without a doubt, we're moving in the right direction. That's exciting to see.

Alright, that's all for now. Have a good Sunday Hivers.

Sort:  

Lovely artwork, as always! I'm a big fan for these simple oil-painting type art; there's just something about the level of detail, presented in a way that's so comforting and intriguing to enjoy. Also, while I'm a day late - Happy Birthday, you beautiful bastard! You can have one slice of this delicious (digitally-rendered) cake, and I can have the rest :-)

Haha, thanks @zacknorman97 :) Never was a big cake fan anyway :p

Wait, hold on. Did you just say, you're not a fan of cake?! I'm horribly triggered, and emotionally distraught at that statement. I love you, but I must now shun you for the rest of my life... XD

Happy birthday chap.
Gamification - you’re totally right.

Love the gif of its progression!

Thanks @ashtv! :) Appreciate it.

I don't know if this is late, but Happy Birthday. Hope it was fun for you.

Ps. I love your hair game! I'm still struggling with mine.

Can't see anything wrong with the old one but I'm unlikely to XD the redo looks good to :)

Ergh updos, things I need to practise more and don't want to XD

Happy birthiversary ;D

Happy Belated birthday to you hope you had a great one :)

Happy birthday! I like both versions, (I had to read again to understand that the new is the top one lol). The older looks more detailed but the lights on the new one are clearly an improvement.

Such a beautiful work @midlet !

I'm pretty curious to know on which digital support you are working..!
and also late late happy birthday to you :)) mine was last week, new level unlocked ^^

oh yes very good!

Happy birthday, you didn't die for another year! 👑

lol, seriously how I look at it. Is that weird? Thank you! :)

Damn!!! This is an amazing digital art piece. I was addicted to STEM write-ups, then Review write-up, now I'm super addicted to digital art piece and this is an excellent piece. I know it might have been awhile since you did this piece but what application did you use, I want to improve myself greatly.

Happy birthday @midlet. Life is like a game, you keep living and your level keep increasing. Congrats on getting to level 38. I felt you, when you said, not doing makes a year feel wasted, we all get that feeling sometimes, but if you look closely you will see you have made some positive moves. We just got to live this life to the fullness when we get the chance, although life could be a bitch atimes, but we are living it. Getting that balance may be difficult, but there are always lessons to be learned. Each day is a gift, embrace it.

I wish you more happiness, joy and prosperity in your new age.

I really want to apart of this community, I like the activities here. I hoping to be a Designer this year, this is a nice fit to me. Do you have a discord so I can join the party.

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Happy Belated Birthday!!! I like both versions but mm the new version definitely looks nicer and more polished(not sure if this is the right word but I couldn't think of what other word to use fkjdgsd)

Wow, lovely @midlet . I SO love painting hair and fabric. There is just a magical quality to it and when you are IN the act of it there is a touch of the abstract about it to then stand back and think, "Ah yes, this is something".