The Greatest Show On Earth Preview

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

GSOE_Promo.jpg

I've been a bit MIA for the past few weeks as I've been working on this project for release at the end of this week on MakersPlace.

A few weeks ago the peeps over at MakersPlace reached out to me and asked if I'd be interested in a feature. I was, so I needed to make something. What I ended up creating is a one minute short film I titled "The Greatest Show On Earth". I didn't start out with the intention to create a short film though.

BurningCity.jpg

At first I thought I'd just create an image, then that image evolved into a short looping animation, then that short looping animation evolved into a whole short narrative. I'm really happy with how it came out in the end. The only reason I was able to do it was because a gig that I worked on a while back left me with bunch of unused credits on a render farm that I still had.

Alley_02.jpg

The piece will be released 08/07/2020 at 1 PM PST. This Friday over on MakersPlace. I don't really like to talk much about what my work is "about" because it can mean a lot of different things to many people and I think that's a really important aspect of viewing and appreciating art. That said, the narrative isn't particularly convoluted or all that abstract. I wanted it to be reasonably accessible.

DarkTower.jpg

One of the really fun and challenging things about this piece is that I also created the music for it. Music is NOT an area of any sort of expertise for me, but something I've always wanted to try was creating my own music to go along with my visuals. I don't think I'll be winning any Grammy's anytime soon, but I think it fits and I was happy with how it came out.

DT_03.jpg

This post is just a teaser, but after the piece is released I'll be posting the full film as well as some of the behind the scenes content here in OnChainArt. I'll also be sharing this on Twitter so likes and retweets would be greatly appreciated. Special thanks to @ryivhnn and @jotakrevs who've been holding down the fort on community moderation while I've been busy working on this. Hope you enjoyed this sneak peak and look forward to the final later this week!

Sort:  

These look great man. Like they say, the interpretation of art is subjective.
Can't wait for the release.

PS - Your makersplace page has a lot of great works as well.

Great work! Your post was selected for curation by one of @curangel's dedicated curators for its contribution to quality!

...unfortunately, it had to be excluded from curation because of the use of a service (reward.app) to liquify rewards.Our upvotes are reserved for content which is created with a commitment to long term growth and decentralization of Hive Power.

This exclusion only applies to this and eventually other future liquified posts and not all your publications in general.

Take care and hive five!

looks interesting

It looks pretty epic! And fun trying to spot all the assets you were letting us sneakypeek at XD

No worries on holding down the fort :)

though I really, really, really need to start dropping more comments in OCA, kinda feel bad that most of them have been moderation comments ^_^;

That must have taken some time to make.

Thank God for render farms else we would grow old waiting for some projects to get done.

Oh thanks for the mention, Glad to help (:

This is all cool and exciting and I am promising myself to get my pieces ready for on chain art so both Makers Place and the new NFT showroom will be my venues I think. Making things specifically for these formats will be a good focus for me, I believe. Well done @midlet for what you've done and inspiring others (well at least me ) to get on with it and make an 'on chain art' goal.