Time to learn ZBrush

in OnChainArt4 years ago

render3.png

I use a lot of different software and make a lot of different stuff, but one of the big dogs of the CG world that I never got into is ZBrush. I'm not a big sculptor and the interface and workflow has always been off putting for me but it's something I've always thought was cool and figured I'd take a stab at one day.

Screenshot_1.png

Well today is one day, and I've finally jumped into ZBrush and this is my first sculpt. It's the start of a new journey and will take many, MANY more before they're any good, but you've gotta start somewhere.

Screenshot_6.png

Since I figured I'd be doing a lot of these in the near future I went ahead and bought some cool shaders that make your sculpts look like they're sculpted out of clay. I was then able to tweak those shaders in Octane to get a pretty nice render. I'll probably use this as a means to make these into something cool looking until the raw sculpts look cool enough, hehe.

render2.png

This first one is just sculpted from my imagination, as mostly I was just learning the tools and interface and didn't have much of an idea. Just some gnarly old guy with insane cheekbones.

As expected, ZBrush is insanely fun. This is something I could sit and do all day. I'm excited to learn more and get better. I think there's been a lot of improvements over the years and the interface and workflow is a lot less painful. We'll see where it all goes. Hope you all like. I'll see you in the next post.

Sort:  

That's one angry sculptured man (smiles). Didn't know of ZBrush before now. I got lots of stuff to know in art.

You have some imagination, sculpting this piece. Great effort. Hoping to learn more from your blog.

That's a great sculpt @midlet.
Now i just want to sit down and learn Zbrush. :D
Excited to see more of your sculptures in future.

That's pretty cool, first thought it's a real sculpture!

That's Tight!! You can mold anything then print it out on a 3D printer!! #TheFutureIsNOW

Oh wow, so this is like sculpting clay on a pedestal, but with computer science! I love the detailing on this, with the myriad of scars and cuts on the face. It's incredible!

Thanks for sharing ❤️!