By the Taj

in OnChainArt3 years ago

IMG_20211001_160918~3.jpg

Feels like not painted for long long time. Last painting was a week ago.. I had a busy week and today had to paint this for one reason.

I hd bought a pad of Arches paper about 3 years back. This is the best paper we have, used by professional painters for archival purpose. I put it in the cupboard at that time I was just beginning to learn watercolor.
https://www.instagram.com/p/Bp9bayLnY_S/

This was my motivation.. to reach a level so I could earn that paper. But recently I came to know that the paper quality might get deteriorated if stored for long time. So I had to use it.. not that I am of that level yet, but good to try.

And a paper of that quality need a subject worth it.. this subject reference pic was with me since last year.. I was scared to paint it so today I took courage to paint it.
Reference
https://pin.it/ylUXycl

Sketch
IMG_20211001_104811.jpg

Arches paper was a single side glued pad, not the block so I had to pull out the paper stretch it and then start working on it.

I did a rough sketch and hurried into painting. Later realised after painting that the Taj was tilted 😞

IMG_20211001_111141.jpg

I had to break in between the painting to attend to some other personal work so it between it got dried in some places . But the quality of paper is such that you can rework on those areas without spoiling much.

IMG_20211001_114907.jpg

Final:
IMG_20211001_160918~3.jpg

It will only get better 😁
Total time : 1hr
Arches 300 gsm cold press A4 sheet

Sort:  

Really beatuful painting! I feel like I am there!

Thank you so much 🥰

Congratulations @mohanraj! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 250 posts.
Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Really nice! I also discovered Arches paper and yes, it is the best! One question, if you paint on it directly and do not strech it and the paper gets bend, how can you make it straight again?

Best papers like arches and Strathmore usually don't bend and comes back to normal flat when they dry.

For my papers which are bend I normally keep them at the end of the stack.. they get flat after couple of days due to the weight. Try that and let me know if it works for you 🙂

I usually paint on blocks so don't need to stretch. But the paper I leave it somewhere after painting might get bend coz it wasn't a flat surface.. those recover by this method 😁

Yes, putting weight on them might work, thank you for the tips, greatly appreciated!

Did it work?

Yes it did, thank you very much for the tip!

Awesome 👍😎