[ESP-ENG] Working on my first mural (Part II) // Trabajo en mi primer mural (Parte II)

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Hace más de una semana que les compartí el boceto de un mural que estaba haciendo para la sala de mi casa (link aquí), como les comenté anteriormente, es prácticamente la primera pintura de estas dimensiones que hago yo sola; el proceso ha sido un poco largo y agotador (y un poco estresante), pero hoy finalmente lo terminé y por este medio les comparto mi experiencia en todo este proceso.

IMG_2021-08-20-16-06-08-628.jpg

Proceso:

Por lo general siempre empiezo a pintar el fondo, así que una vez hecho el boceto, empecé a combinar el blanco y el negro para conseguir el tono gris que usaría para este; me aseguré de preparar suficiente pintura pues sería un dolor de cabeza intentar recrear la misma tonalidad si este se me llegase a agotar. Usé pinturas al frío blanca y negra y también un poco de pintura blanca de caucho (esa que usan para pintar las paredes). En este punto le pedí una mano a mi hermano menor, con un poco de ayuda terminaría este paso rápido.

IMG_2021-08-10-12-03-59-178.jpg

Una vez colocadas las dos capas de pintura para el fondo, ya era libre de dedicarme a la piel del retrato. Para ello, preparé el color de base. Con una capa me bastó para cubrir el espacio y jugando un poco con el gris y el blanco, empecé a añadir algunos de los matices de la piel.

Este paso me tomó mucho tiempo, quería que la piel se viese delicada, por lo que las pinceladas también debían serlo, pero en mi caso, suelo jugar mucho a la hora de hacer las sombras, colocándolas pinceladas efímeras y yuxtapuestas, era algo como:

Pinta por aquí - pinta por allá - pinta en medio de todo - ahora difumina.

Empecé a emocionarme cuando tuve los labios y la nariz prácticamente listos, podía ver el realismo en ellos, ya mi retrato tenía vida, eso me motivó mucho a continuar con la pintura…

No pensé que recrear la textura de los pliegues de la tela me tomaría tanto tiempo, pero sí que lo fue, me tomó unas cuatro horas dedicarme solamente a esta área, irónicamente fue de las cosas que más complicaciones me produjo.

¿Cuál fue la otra? La máscara. No podía dejar la máscara con un color plano, también debía darle algunas luces y sombras para que tuviera concordancia con el realismo presente en los demás elementos del retrato. Este último paso fue el que me dediqué a hacer hoy, realmente no quería que la semana terminase sin que este mural estuviera listo, así que me puse manos a la obra desde la mañana.

IMG_2021-08-20-16-06-08-628.jpg

IMG_2021-08-20-16-06-22-259.jpg

IMG_2021-08-20-17-10-24-646.jpg

Una vez colocada mi firma en la parte inferior derecha de la obra sentí mucha satisfacción y algo como un sentimiento liberador corriendo por mi cuerpo. Aunque me llevó más tiempo del que me había estimado, realizar este mural fue algo increíble y que espero volver a hacer.

Oh, ¿y les doy un consejo? Procuren que el cliente no vea el proceso de sus obras, ni trabajen con ellos al lado, de otro modo vivirán algo agobiados jaja.

Pasé uno o dos días sin pintar nada, tenía otras cosas en las que debía enfocarme, por lo que mi papá no perdía oportunidad de recordarme (o lanzarme indirectas) que siguiera con su pintura… Yo solo le miraba con mis ojos entrecerrados y no le respondía nada, JAJAJA.

Es todo por ahora, espero que les haya gustado mi post y también la pintura. No duden en dejar en los comentarios cualquier consejo o duda que tengan.

Cuídense y sigan creando.:)

Diseño sin título.jpg

English version.

More than a week ago I shared with you the sketch of a mural I was making for my living room (link here), as I mentioned before, it is practically the first painting of these dimensions that I do by myself; the process has been a bit long and exhausting (and a bit stressful), but today I finally finished it and I am sharing with you my experience in this whole process.

IMG_2021-08-20-16-06-08-628.jpg

Process:
.

I usually always start painting the background, so once the sketch was done, I started combining black and white to get the gray shade I would use for this one; I made sure to prepare enough paint as it would be a headache trying to recreate the same shade if this one ever ran out on me. I used white and black cold paints and also some white rubber paint (the kind they use to paint walls). At this point I asked my younger brother for a hand, with a little help I would finish this step quickly.

IMG_2021-08-10-12-03-59-178.jpg

With the two coats of paint for the background in place, I was now free to get down to the skin of the portrait. For this, I prepared the base color. One layer was enough to cover the space and playing a bit with the gray and white, I started to add some of the shades of the skin.

This step took me a long time, I wanted the skin to look delicate, so the brushstrokes had to be delicate too, but in my case, I usually play a lot when doing the shadows, placing them ephemeral and juxtaposed brushstrokes, it was something like:

Paint over here - paint over there - paint in the middle of everything - now smudge.

I started to get excited when I had the lips and the nose practically ready, I could see the realism in them, already my portrait had life, that motivated me a lot to continue with the painting....

I didn't think that recreating the texture of the folds of the fabric would take me so long, but it was, it took me about four hours to devote to this area alone, ironically it was one of the things I had the most trouble with.

What was the other one? The mask. I couldn't leave the mask with a flat color, I also had to give it some lights and shadows to match the realism present in the other elements of the portrait. This last step was the one I dedicated myself to do today, I really didn't want the week to end without this mural being ready, so I got down to work in the morning.

IMG_2021-08-20-16-06-08-628.jpg

IMG_2021-08-20-16-06-22-259.jpg

IMG_2021-08-20-17-10-24-646.jpg

Once I placed my signature on the bottom right of the work I felt a lot of satisfaction and something like a liberating feeling running through my body. Although it took me longer than I had estimated, making this mural was amazing and something I hope to do again.

Oh, and a piece of advice? Try not to let the client see the process of your work, or work with them next to you, otherwise you will live a bit overwhelmed haha.

I spent one or two days without painting anything, I had other things I had to focus on, so my dad didn't miss a chance to remind me (or throw me hints) to continue with his painting... I just looked at him with my eyes half closed and didn't answer him anything, HAHAHAHA.

That's all for now, I hope you liked my post and also the painting. Feel free to leave in the comments any advice or questions you may have.

Take care and keep on creating:)

Sort:  

Congratulations @nicxi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for the support.:)