Vitamin C (and a brief explanation of the unnecessarily complicated process I followed to make it look like a serigraphy)

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Vitamin C - semitono 3 HIVE.jpg

(It's a little bit out of the style that I [think] will mostly keep in this account but I got the illustration in my head and I knew I wouldn't be able to do anything else until I got it out)

The idea was that this image would be a little more suggestive than it ended up being, but the truth is that I like the result. It helped me to minimize a little bit this crazy desire I have to make serigraphy 😢

.

Either way, remember to take your vitamin C, put on your mask, get away from people and hug your pets. Stay healthy, chiquisbeibis <3

.

.

.

About the process:

I am considerably more confident that I followed a more convoluted process than was necessary. That was the case: I wanted to achieve an illustration that could be easily reproduced in flat screen printing inks, and since I wanted to use gradients these had to be dotted (or line) patterns, but I wanted dots. I also wanted a very clean illustration so I solved it this way: Base illustration in Illustrator and dotted frames (and assembly) in Photoshop. This is the base illustration in vectors:

Vitamin C - Base-02 HIVE.jpg

What I did was to take the elements individually, in photoshop put them in "grayscale" mode and then pass them through the "semitone color" filter:

Vitamin C - ejemplo del proceso.jpg

I selected the size of the dots I wanted and adjusted the illumination of the image to get the distribution of dots and detail I was interested in. I did not want all the elements of the illustration to have the same size of dots.

Then I removed the white parts (i.e. everything that was not dots) and moved the image to the assembly file. I colored with Hue/Saturation (Image>Settings>Hue/Saturation) and then it was a process of repeating, repeating and repeating with all the elements of the illustration.

Of course, if I wanted to print it in silkscreen I would have to do the division by colors, not elements, but as it is not going to be possible at the moment, I left it separated as I mounted it so that the process could be seen better:

C-_Users_Manuel-Faria-Toshiba_Desktop_Celina_Personales_Vitamin-C---capas_Vitamin-C---Animacion-de-las-capas.gif

.

.

Extra: If anyone wonders why I simply didn't run the entire illustration through the color semitone, it's because I would have come out with this:

Vitamin C - semitono TODO AL MISMO TIEMPO HIVE.jpg

And it's not what I wanted.

.

See you in the next post!

Sort:  

Very clever! Thank you for talking us through how you did it. The finished image looks amazing!

Congratulations @octocel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project
October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month