Liceista 1

in OnChainArt4 years ago

I don't think I can say I have a very specific art style for the moment because I am focusing on learning and getting better but I do know where I am heading way: "Concept art"
aguevoniao.jpg

Of course that is way more than just character design but there is where I am starting. in my last post I said that I was working with two different styles, well this is the other one. You can notice the diference in the finished work, don't you? well right now I am going to also talk about the diferences on the process and workflow; but before let's talk about the concept itself.

I made this highscoolers from how usually they looks in my country, I am currently doing a serie of 3 characters with this concept, here we got the first one, your average venezuelan 16 years old male hurring up to high school; he looks worried, maybe he is getting late for a test or just forgot his homework, who knows? hahaha.


Tools and Process

lineagu.jpg

agurvoniau.jpg

Unlike my misaki fanart, where I went directly for the paint and building of the character from the go, here I go more slowly and precise. This style is more clean so it makes it good for videogames or lighnovels; however it do take a lot of time to get done.

After I have finished the sketch, block in and lineart, I start working in grayscale to get the shadows on their right places, I do all I have to makes it looks 3d and correctly rendered. after I finish the grayscale, it's time to put the colors; when working with grayscale the big problem is that the colors tends to looks very dull and boring, however I use a method to fix that (will talk about it in the next post with the other characters).

Once the coloring is done, I do the finals touch by painting and adding details or things I think would make the character looks better, just little details and maybe add some highlighs.

I did this in Photoshop cs6


Well this was all for today! if you want to see more of my work you can follow me on Twitter (I just started to post my stuff there so it's still a bit empty) I wish you a good day/night and see you in a next post!
stemiyo.jpg