| ENG | ESP | Old little sketch | Pequeño sketch viejo

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Whats up Hive friends!

Que tal gente de amigos de Hive!

Today I wanted to show you this little sketch I did a while ago.

It is a rather peculiar mask, which I found interesting to sketch and detail a little at the time, I think it has a style very similar to Japanese masks, but I do not remember if at that time I used an exact reference when drawing it so I apologize for not being able to show an exact reference if that was the case.

My thought was to be able to pass it to digital and make a final art with a better finish. Apparently I forgot and recently reviewing old jobs I found it back in a folder. It might be pretty cool to redo it today and digitize it and see how much I can achieve from this little drawing.

Hoy quería mostrarles este pequeño sketch que hice hace un tiempo.

Es una mascara bastante peculiar, la cual me pareció interesante bocetar y detallar un poco en aquel momento, creo que tiene un estilo muy parecido a las mascaras japonesas, pero no recuerdo si en aquel momento usé una referencia exacta a la hora de dibujarla así que pido disculpas por no poder mostrar una referencia exacta si ese fue el caso.

Mi pensamiento era poder pasarla a digital y hacer un arte final con un mejor acabado. Parece ser que lo olvidé y hace poco revisando trabajos viejos lo encontré de nuevo en una carpeta. Podría ser bastante genial rehacerla actualmente y digitalizarla y ver que tanto puedo lograr a partir de este pequeño dibujo.


DSC01839-2.jpg

DSC01841-2.jpg

DSC01838-2.jpg


However, doing some research on Japanese masks I found one very similar to the one I did, so I wanted to talk to you a little bit about this one, it's the Oni mask.

Oni is one of the most popular ancient Japanese masks worldwide, for its interesting appearance, shape and meaning, this character refers to a demon with red skin and fangs and although its appearance is not the most pleasant, it is believed that it can be used for good and evil, completing a single rule, try to keep it happy since this is the way it is good for you.

Sin embargo, investigando un poco sobre las mascaras japonesas encontré una muy similar a la que yo hice, así que quise hablarles un poco acerca de esta, es la mascara Oni.

Oni es una de las antiguas mascaras japonesas mas populares a nivel mundial, por su interesante aspecto, forma y significado, este personaje hace referencia a un demonio con piel roja y colmillos y aunque su apariencia no sea la mas agradable, se cree que puede ser usado para el bien y el mal, esto cumpliendo una única regla, intentar mantenerlo contento ya que este es el modo de que sea bueno contigo.


image.png

image.png


Its name derives from "On" which means to hide, in ancient times was revered, as they were believed to be unpleasant spirits and guilty of generating natural disasters.

Because of this it was decided to create the mask as a way to have a representation of them so that we could pay tribute to them and worship them to try to keep them happy and that no more disasters and diseases occurred, with this and the passage of time also arose the belief that it was only bad when you did not worship it.

Su nombre deriva de "On" que significa ocultar, en la antigüedad se le veneraba ya que se tenía la creencia de que eran espíritus desagradables y culpables de generar los desastres naturales.

Debido a esto se decidió crear la mascara como forma de tener una representación de ellos y de esta forma poder rendirles tributo y adorarlos para intentar mantenerlos contentos y que no sucedieran mas desastres y enfermedades, con esto y el pasar del tiempo también surgió la creencia de que solo era malo cuando no lo adorabas.


image.png


If you like this content follow me, I will be posting on my blog my process as a designer and artist, I am glad that you can accompany me within this whole learning process, and I will always be open to your advice and criticisms, a lot of greetings friends of hive!

Si te gusta este contenido sigueme, que estaré publicando en mi blog mi proceso como diseñador y artista, me alegra que puedan acompañarme dentro de todo este proceso de aprendizaje, y siempre estaré abierto a sus consejos y criticas, mucho saludos amigos de hive!


You can see more works of illustrations & design in my instagram account, follow me:

Puedes ver trabajos de ilustración & diseño en mi cuenta de instagram, sígueme:
IG: @rabanbann
https://www.instagram.com/rabanbann

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!