Chaos' Heir

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Hi all!

This is a commissioned book cover for author Eveofchaos, fresh out of the oven.
For some reason I seem to connect very well with this guy's ideas and every time I worked with him I loved the final result.
Must say, it's a great feeling when 'work' can be 100% fun to work on.


chaos-heir.jpg




This time the setting is another I really love, the huge class differences and a dystopian future where those are way bigger is a theme I went for a few times already without prompt so I'm happy to explore another iteration again. :D

Here's what the book cover looks like. Lately I feel maybe I am getting the grips of the text placement and design as well... simple as this one is.


chaos-heir-text.jpg




Since I don't have an animation as usual, I'm just adding some of the renders I used to work this out. The foreground I made with photos and the whole background is rendered in Blender 3D using premade Kitbashing models, then textured and edited afterwards.

In Photoshop I used a night time render as my main source, since it was the closest to what I was looking for. But I also used a daylight render to add some detail, a few parts with natural light and also add back some of the details that get lost in the darker night scene.

Last is the depth map output from Blender that helps a lot when it comes to making selections, adding masks for haze, lights, etc.


render-test-1.jpg

render-test-night.jpg

depth for real.png




Find me elsewhere:

Makersplace
Instagram
Twitter
YouTube
ArtStation
DeviantArt
Behance
Prints and more


Sort:  

If that was my book I'd be very happy with your art on it!

 3 years ago  

I am positive the author was happy with it, and so am I haha. Glad you liked it too, thanks a lot! :D

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wow!! Look amazing!

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much! :D

Congratulations @rowye! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Brutal!

 3 years ago  

:D Thank you!

Cool cover! I really like the idea that you can render different daytimes (which is very obvious but I've never thought about that). It's like HDR with a camera

 3 years ago (edited) 

:D Thank you!

I do that often with 3D, then with a mask I can paint from one to the other image. :D
For night scenes for example, one can use an orange lit render to create light from torches or stuff like that.

Gorgeous piece!

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much! :D

That's an incredible job!! Wow!!

 3 years ago  

:D Thank you so very much!

amazing job

 3 years ago  

Thank you! :D

 3 years ago  

this is soo good, You get me inspired for sure with this epic works !

I love the color scheme! It makes it look like a futuristic city under the water

I can clearly see that it was fun to create it.There's so much detail in there, from the stunning depth effect, to the detail of the surfaces and the physical details, to the ambience, everything seems to have been done with a lot of passion.
Amazing artwork!