Crysis

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Hey all!

Some Crysis fanart I made in 2018.
For those who aren't familiar with it, Crysis is a game from 2007 with 2015 graphics, which meant that no-one could run it when it came out. :D Eleven years later I got a computer that could do with it so I played the crap out of it.

It's kind of a meme because of this but in the end there's a good game there... if you're into shooting things. Anyway, the setting for the game is beautiful and I felt like giving it even more photorealistic graphics. ;)


Crysis.jpg




Some couple of square ones to show the detail...


cryleft.jpg

cryright.jpg




As usual I'm attaching a process animation.
The whole thing was mostly photomanipulated in a matte painting fashion, with sort of mixed results. xD

Maybe the 2nd frame, the sketch in green, seems perfect for sort of a Vietnam vibe, now I wonder what'd have happened if I had continued with that idea. The proportions there seem all different too, more like it's a swamp or the like, and not sure how well it went to turn it in a space as big as the sea.

Aaanyway..... :D


Crysis-Animation.gif




Find me elsewhere:

Makersplace
Instagram
Twitter
YouTube
ArtStation
DeviantArt
Behance
Prints and more


Sort:  

!discovery 15


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 3 years ago  

This is amazing !! it reminds me of a game i used to play ( sniper ghost warrior )

 3 years ago  

:D Thank you!
I didn't know the game but looked at it a bit now, seems interesting. I never played one of these games centered around sniper rifles, but I'm running out of FPS to play so maybe I'll check one out soon. xD

 3 years ago  

yeaaah i think u should give it a shot :D might like it, I like the environments works and details, I still love FPS games but yeah we dont have much of those anymore

Very cool, the process is really interesting seeing how dramatically it changed throughout. Shows the thinking process.

 3 years ago  

Thank you! Yeah, when I look at these years later I always discover things, I feel like I should go back and do that Vietnam scene now, might come better off than this one. xD


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @rowye! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I played the hell out of that game back in the day. Mostly because I was on the QA team at EA. I spent 10 hours a day, 5 (sometimes 6) days a week for an entire year playing it and testing everything before release. You can see my name in the credits if you wait long enough.

I may be biased for that reason, but it is definitely my favorite of the series. In fact, I still have it on my main computer and play it from time to time.

Something that almost no one knows about it is that in the beginning beta builds when our team first started testing it you could play it at fairly high settings on a halfway decent video card. However, they were heavily promoting Nvidia and what the cry engine could do at the time. They basically wanted you to buy an Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX. After a few builds the game became nearly unplayable on any low spec system if it wasn't on the lowest possible settings. The goal was to really make it shine on the 8800gtx.

I should do a post sometime about the whole experience. A lot of crazy stuff happened at that job.

 3 years ago  

Haha that would be an interesting read.

Crazy what they did with it, it's a very weird figure because it's on one side venerated for its graphics but on the other side laughing stock cause there's no point on releasing a game no-one can play. xD

Personally, when I could finally play it, I enjoyed it very much. I must have gone through it at least 6 or 7 times, with and without mods. Really loved it and the expansion because of the non open world freedom... you can play it in an infinite different ways.

I thought Crysis 2 sucked, all on rails, just wanted it to be over... and I hear 3 is a bit better so I'm bound to try it some time.

So I kind of agree it's the best, even not having played 3. :D

Really beautiful! If you did not say it was from a game I would have thought it was from some kind of fantasy movie.

 3 years ago  

Heehee it could have been fantasy too, thank you!

Yes it could :D

 3 years ago  

Damn!!! You make this from scratch? That a whole lotta work there. Great bro

 3 years ago  

:D Thank you!
Well I use photos for most of it and lots of environment brushes to compensate my lack of painting skills haha.

 3 years ago  

Okay, you've a good sense then

I'm so Spellbound!!!! 😍