"Fill the Empty Room"

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20190330_153338.jpg

Fill The Empty Room
Mixed Media
2018

This piece became part of my journey of accepting myself.

Story Time

Growing up, I cannot fall asleep when the lights are off and without pillows and other stuff on my bedside. I thought it wasn't serious and I normalize this thing.

I thought it was normal to turn on the lights every time I go to sleep to feel safe just like my mom's hug. I thought it was normal to put the pillows on both sides of my bed so I won't feel alone. I always thought that if I fill up my empty room with a bunch of stuff, it would also fill up my emptiness inside.

Unlike a normal child, I was raised in my grandparent's house by a single mom. After several years, I turned 6 and my mom left me to have her own family. Not before I finish grade school, she came back to live with us again.

At an early age, I understand the feeling of being alone and left behind. Those experiences happened in a short period of time but up until now, the feeling of emptiness remains.

Sort:  

Congratulations @seekerista! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!