Lion on clay

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!!

Today I am back with my new work that is lion that I made on clay. I love studying animal figures. This is a lion head that I made as a high relief sculpture. I am really happy with my work. I just love the way how fine, interesting and attractive it looks.

Relief is a technique where the sculpted elements remain attached to background of the same material. The term relief is derived fron the Latin word "relevo", which means "to raise". To create a sculpture in relief is to give the impression that the sculpted material has been raised above the background plane.

There are 3 types of relief sculpture: low relief (or bas-relief), i.e, the motifs are only slightly raised above the surface; high relief, i.e, the sculpture projects at least half or more of its natural circumference from the background; and sunken relief, i.e, the carving is sunk below the level of the flat surface.

Since I want multi pieces of this sculpture, I will have to take a silicon mold out of it. For this, I am going to take a POP mold first, then cast it in wax, then do more finishing works. Only then I am going to take a silicon mold. Once the silicon mold is ready I will be able to create multi pieces of this lion.

IMG_20200408_162203.jpg

IMG_20200804_140509.jpg

IMG_20200804_140315.jpg

IMG_20200804_140346.jpg

IMG_20200804_140228.jpg

Sort:  

Ah it looks wonderful, I always admired this form of art called sculpting.

Thank you very much. I have found very less people who admire sculpting in hive. Hope to get support from many more.

That's nice work. Wish you made its mouth wide open.

Thank you.
I wanted to make it calm so I didn't open its mouth.

Okay that's cool. You shared with us your feelings. I hope you create another with the mouth wide open in form of "Roar".

For sure haha.