BLACK CAT APPRECIATION DAY

in OnChainArt4 years ago


Good afternoon! Last August 17, I learned that it was the BLACK CAT APPRECIATION DAY. I wanted to make a drawing for it but I was still doing the animation for the ROLLER COASTER DAY, then I rested yesterday because my eyes still hurt from making the animation. Finally, I am able to draw a cat today for the Black Cat Appreciation Day. It's a late entry but as they say, it's better to be late than never! Meow!

Black cats are often associated with witches and popular during Halloween season. They carry a mysterious and mystic vibe compared to other colored cats. In the Philippines, there's a superstition that black cats carries misfortune. When you see a black cat or a black cat crosses in front of you, that person will receive bad luck or will experience misfortune. It is also believed that black cats are witches or "aswang"(ghoul) that have transformed as a cat so it can roam around especially during the day. Well, it might be true but not all black cats must be feared. I remember a friend screamed in fear when she saw a black cat beside her feet. Lol. Poor kitty!



black cat11.jpg


Black cats are actually very beautiful. I really adore them. I think their color is unique compared to the usual cats with mixed colors or pure white, orange, and grey. Sailor Moon's cat and the cat at the anime film Kiki's Delivery Service is black. Even the character Yoruichi of the anime Bleach turns into a black cat. I therefore conclude that black cats are special.

Meanwhile, in Japan, black cats are considered lucky. These cats are believed to bring good luck, good fortune, and attract good suitors for single women.

Here's a black cat I spotted when we visit a museum in Pampanga last 2018. It was quietly lying on the floor and doesn't mind getting photographed. I took a couple of snaps of this cat before entering the museum.


P_20180412_130531.jpg



DRAWING PROCESS




blackcat1.gif

  • I started by drawing the outline then coloring on a lighter shade to see the shape of the cat's face, especially on the jaw area. I used the Color Burn to make the yellow color of the eyes warmer as well as for the blue and red reflection on each side of the cat's body. I also added an oil paint texture for the grainy effect of the drawing.



Medium: Digital (Wacom Intuos Comic)
Program: Clip Studio Paint
Gif made with Photoshop CS6
Time: Approximately 3 hours





2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn8BGehqkW7w8m8nh.gif
Follow me on Instagram and subscribe to my Youtube channel!

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you! :)

WoW, amo amo amo esto 🤭

gracias! :D