Damian Domingo-Inspired Drawings (Kids' Art Party!)

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Hello! It's been weeks since I've shared my drawings from Robert Alejandro's Art Party. I was doing an art commission that's why. I believe the commission is still not finished because I still have a video to edit but my friend still hadn't sent me the files to edit so I had more time to go back into the art parties I missed in the past weeks.

Each art party is 1 hr long and so, as much as I would like to post them all at once (there are 6 art parties I missed), I can't. I can only allot some time for drawings in a day. Plus, there are drawings that have different themes so I guess it's better to post them separately. This one I am posting is 2 art party session. However, the second one is a continuation of the first that is why I am posting it together for this post.

IMG_20200701_072008~3.jpg

Robert Alejandro is a Filipino artist, one of the owners of the local craft store Papemelroti, and mostly known as the host of the art program art is-kool at GMA 7. (I never watched the program because I thought it was just a remake of the program Art Attack. I'm not a fan of remakes and I regret not watching art is-kool because Robert is actually a cool teacher.)

This artworks I am sharing to you today are from the kid's art party which are held every Saturdays at 10 AM. (Here's the link to teacher Robert's Facebook where he does the art parties.)

Both of the artworks he taught were inspired from Damian Domingo, a very important painter in the Philippine Art History. Damian Domingo is a Filipino Chinese mestizo known as the Father of Filipino Painting. He was born on February 12, 1796 in Tondo where he also established the Philippine Art Academy.

IMG_20200701_072125~2.jpg

In the first party of the art party, we drew the man wearing a Barong Tagalog (Philippine national costume for male) while holding an umbrella and kids' named him Señor Mustacio. He is named that way because the kids requested Teacher Robert to draw a mustache while the drawing was on going.

IMG_20200701_072131~2.jpg

On the second part of the art party, we drew a woman wearing Baro't Saya (Philippine national costume for female) and identified some parts of her dress and accessories like the fan (abaniko), hair piece (payneta), blouse (camisa), and the huge handkerchief wrapped on her shoulders (panuelo). (Baro't Saya means blouse and skirt.) The woman also wore Bakya, a wooden clogs wore by Filipinos back in the day, a.k.a. the national footwear of the Philippines. The female drawing was named Señorita Maria.

IMG_20200701_072047~2.jpg

We colored the artworks after sketching. Teacher Robert encouraged the viewers to use whatever coloring materials they have, in my case, I used watercolor. Particularly just the old cheap watercolors I have kept many many years ago. (Sorry I am not good with lettering! 😂 )

I am happy joining art parties because I get to practice drawing, learning to use the watercolor medium and actually using the old watercolor instead of just being stored inside the drawer. Aside from that, it's a good break from doing digital drawings.

If you have kids at home, you may let them join Teacher Robert's art parties every Saturday at 10 AM. The art party for adults is every Wednesday at 7 PM.

Good morning!