"High Priestess" Original artwork

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)

No matter what you might sacrifice, it will be forgotten.

Hello there. It has been a while.
I present to you one of the paintings I was working on in the past months. "High Priestess"

image.png

A few months ago I was at my father's place, talking about things. He was showing me what he was working on on the side. He forging a sword, had some engine or some sort of generator parts (or something like that). One of the things that he had on his workbench was the thing that you see on the bottom part of the painting. 2 rolls of blocks forming circles, in the middle, it had chocks that were supporting a long axis. I immediately took out my phone and started taking pictures. I Was telling dad what started emerging in my mind (this painting more or less). He got more hyped than I was, he brought out some lights, pointed towards the part. Got me a big white sheet of paper to use as a screen, and to make it easier.
Sometimes small interaction like that with somebody is like rocket fuel and it can last you months on an end. I'm smiling while writing that...

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I have a fiction story about the painting my question is, would you guys like to read what's the story of the artwork?


Tools used: Photoshop and Wacom Intuos pen small

If you like my art, you can check in on me at:
Facebook; Artstation; Deviantart; Behance;Patreon; Instagram; Dlive; Twitter and Twitch

Sort:  

A interesting work, has a "Giger" feel to it. I shared it, also on Twitter.

Thank you. I tried to make it equally organic as it is mechanical, and to keep the female shapes as natural as I can. Most of my older stuff had this overwhelming mechanical feel to them. Tried to make the shapes soft and to be supported by "machined" elements as we are.
How do you feel about the "written story" when it comes to posts like this. I can't decide if I should tell the story verbally to support the visual image or i should hold back. I asked @gric a similar question about a year ago, and his stance was to let the audience tell their own story.

 3 years ago (edited) 

I found yours before there was much upvotes on it (and I reblogged it) - congrats for getting the attention now I thought you deserved.
The story of how you created it is good, it deals with the process. But I am of the same opinion as Peter, the audience will view it with their own eyes and see the story based on their own parameters, personal archetypes and experiences. Beksiński didn't even title his work, so as not to force viewers into a specific direction on how to see his art.

Thank you very much again for doing it!
So I should not be as egoistic when it comes to concepts and meaning. The Thing is that when I draw I start to build a scenario in my head that leads to the point of the time where the frame that I'm working on takes place, maybe your way of work is similar, Hardly I can hold myself from telling it. Maybe I should write the stories separately from the painting. Writing is as tempting as painting is.
I am very happy every time when I have the chance to pick your mind about stuff like that.

A wonderful drawing, combining the mythical, fantastic and even religious, with the mechanical. The colors used produce a curious effect. Greetings, @svdsdragunov.

Tu post ha sido votado por @CELFmagazine, una iniciativa autónoma en favor del contenido de calidad sobre arte y cultura. Apóyanos con tu voto aquí para mantener y mejorar nuestra labor. Nuestra comunidad es #hive-111516

Your post has been upvoted by @Celfmagazine, an autonomous initiative in favour of quality content on art and culture. Support us with your vote here to maintain and improve our work. Our community is #hive-111516

CELFmagazine

Thank you! It was interesting to experience paint this. Mostly, exactly because of the colors, i was thinking about the color palette the whole time.