"Mermaid" Original Artwork

in OnChainArt3 years ago
Authored by @Nikolay Krastev

Hello there!

I started this piece at the end of 2019, Around Christmas. When I began painting, I wanted to draw a possessed armor or something twisted and dark. And the wings that you see now were part of that armor. I had no clear concept in my head and was erasing every second brush stroke. Then a friend of mine told me to just draw a girl, so I did.

Here's the painting

image.png

You can find my freshly minted piece Here on Rarible.com

For the most part, I was using the default soft round brush mainly. Here and there I had to use the hard round brush to cаrve out a clean edge shape. I was restricting myself from using selections or pen tool, but for some things, you can't avoid it.

image.png

I was taking my time with every piece of detail on that painting. Started on a 50% gray canvas, and was carving shapes, adding volume. for five months I was constantly expanding in terms of details. Soon after, I burned out, didn't know how to finish the piece. So I left it aside.

image.png

Until one day, a couple of months later, a client asked me about that piece. I told her that it's not finished, but she insisted on buying it as a print. I could not allow myself to sell her an unfinished artwork.

image.png

So I opened the file and was able to see what's missing. In a couple of weeks, I had it done. My client fell in love with the piece, even more, when she saw it in a frame.

At this point, it is impossible for me to tell you how much time I've spent on this painting, yet it still feels like a moment.


Tools used: Wacom Intuos pen Small & Photoshop

If you like my art, you can check in on me at:
Facebook; Artstation; Deviantart; Behance;Patreon; Instagram; Dlive; Twitter and Twitch

Sort:  

This looks amazing! I love the mermaid concept. I've always admired the details of your works ♥

Thank you! I get carried away with details every time start to paint

Congratulations @svdsdragunov, this post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase.
On behalf of @curie I thank you for your time and for creating amazing content. Keep up the good work!
Sincerely, Mervin (@curie curator)

Thank you @mervin-gil for your work, and @curie for recognizing my work! It's an honor for me!

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Ahh you're finally done, I remember you working on this piece a hundred million years ago. Yay and more yay that someone wanted it badly enough to motivate you to finish it :D

Looks fantastic!

I finished it around September last year. But so many things were happening at that time that I forgot to put it out :D Thank you!