Art Attack! #111: A Cat-Whale and Cat-Orca? 🐋

in OnChainArt2 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So if you missed my last couple of posts, I started sharing more art I did for my Twitch channel in the form of customised bit badges! Badges are special icons that users can put beside their name in the chat that will show up on different Twitch channels and if you send bits/cheers on a channel you get a special badge too! Each bit is 1 cent, and there are so many bit badges up to 5 million bits?!

I notice not many streamers do it, but I thought customised badges would look really cool so these were the ones I did!

image.png

Last week, I shared the badges I did for 1K and 5K bits, the cat-fish and cat-dolphin respectively. They follow a similar theme building off the whaling concept/meme on Twitch where we call people who spend a lot of money "whales". And since that's essentially what throwing bits is on Twitch, I thought it'd be perfect! So I decided to expand it and separated into goldfish, dolphin and different types of whales too! But I made into cat versions since that's kinda my thing, being TacoCat and all.

So for the 10K one I figured it was perfect for a Cat-Whale badge and I had the perfect reference for this one! This is the Golden Whale from one of my favourite games back in the day, Castle Crashers!

image.png

Source: Steam

It's a pretty fun 2.5D beat-em-up game that's really fun with friends and I enjoyed playing it a lot. Anyway, you can have these cute pet companions in the game and one of them is the Golden Whale, which drops money!

image.png

Source: Castle Crashers Fandom Wiki

So I thought it'd be a perfect reference for a whale badge, since he's so cute but I added cat ears to him of course to keep it on theme with the rest of the badges. And this was what I came up with:

image.png

The lines actually aren't as clean as I would look but I thought it still looked pretty alright and most importantly, cute! Here's the timelapse:

And for the next one at 25K bits I started thinking of different types of whales and my first thought was of the killer whale! Since its colour is different than a regular whale it'd be good for some variety. And I always thought killer whales looked really cool!

I found this picture of a very cute orca on redbubble and thought it looked perfect to reference and the pose would be good for drawing cat ears on as well!

image.png

Source: redbubble

So this is what I drew! Instead of just letting his fins/paws hang loose I thought it'd be good for him to hold a moneybag since it's quite a lot of bits to get to this point and it actually gave some contrast to his colours since it's only grey, white and pink. I thought the cat ears were a little off but I tried my best to make it seem.. natural?

image.png

The angle still might've been off but since it's just a badge I didn't think it mattered much anyway since it's so small in the chat no one would really notice it all that much.

Anyway, here's the timelapse:

I had to try and adjust the grey to be lighter so it could still be seen even on dark mode Twitch. Not sure if it worked but I hope it turned out okay!

Reviewing these again actually made me think of even more ideas for badges I can do but since the increments are quite large I doubt there's going to be anyone who even gets to 50K let alone 100K or more. So I guess they will just be ideas until the very far future where maybe someone will get close to unlocking those. Maybe.

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack! #110: Cat-fish and Cat-Dolphin Badges! 🐟🐬