Art Attack #155: Pooping in a cute Toilet? 🚽

in OnChainArtlast year

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

This was another free artwork redemption over on my twitch channel, where viewers can use their channel points they've hoarded over the course of watching my streams to claim free art from me!

image.png

This request was made by one of my (used-to-be) regulars and fellow streamer friend who goes by Kazuki on Twitch. He requested I draw him a toilet PNGtuber avatar, which I'd never done before so this was going to be a new experience.

If you're wondering what is a PNGtuber, it's basically a simplified version of vtuber; where people use anime characters to represent themselves on streams instead of their real face. For example, this is a vtuber used by pokimane:

image.png

Source: dotesports

While a vtuber uses 3d modeling to mimic the user's facial expressions and movement, a PNGtuber is much more simplified in that it only needs 2 different "poses" whether the user is talking or not. It's more static in that sense since the software will only react to when the user is speaking and change accordingly.

image.png

Source: fiverr

Anyway, the story behind Kazuki's toilet PNG is, he was using a generic avatar at first that people mistook as the man on the toilet sign and it just kinda evolved from there. But he sent me some references, and I told him I would make him the cutest toilet there was, sort of.

These were the references I used, and the resulting sketch. It was pretty simple since it's just a toilet.

image.png

But at the same time, it looked a little too simple. I didn't know what else to draw, though I was contemplating adding a toilet roll but it would've ruined the symmetry. And besides, the toilet roll is rarely attached to the toilet anyway. So after that I drew the outline:

And that was the non-speaking PNG done!

Next was the speaking one, and Kazuki wanted the lid to open up when he talked like a mouth so back to the sketch, I just changed it so the lid would be open:

image.png

Then the outline and colour:

image.png

It still looked a little too simple, so I asked chat (because I was drawing this live) if I should add anything inside the toilet and they suggested I add a crab, since Kazuki invented the "crab walk" technique in Valorant within my community.

I found a cute crab to copy and drew it in the toilet! It looked so adorable just chilling in the toilet water. 😂

image.png

I showed it to Kazuki and he thought it was such a good idea but then he asked if I could change it to an OMEGALUL crab instead which I thought was hilarious. OMEGALUL is an emote used on Twitch kinda like LMAO or ROFL and looks like this:

image.png

Source: AFKgaming

I wasn't really sure how I could make the crab have that face but tried my best and I think it came out really well! I think this was the first time I used the liquefy tool but it worked wonders!

image.png

Kazuki loved it so much and now it's a redeem on his channel to add in the crab!
And for a while this was the end, but then on another stream with Kazuki and a few friends they were talking about poop and it gave me an idea to draw a poop in his toilet! I didn't want to at first since it felt mean but since he suggested it himself I thought it was okay?

But it wasn't just any poop, because I had the idea to combine the poop and the KEKL emote which looks like this:

image.png

Source: frankerfacez

Since this emote was brown, it fit so well. And when I actually drew it, it looked absolutely perfect!

image.png

I laughed so hard when I finished it and I'm so glad Kazuki loved it so much too! When I was done with the open lid PNG and tested the animation it looked so much like a pelican I couldn't unsee it; it looked like he should squawk as he opens his mouth. 🤣 We had a good time laughing about it on-stream!

Anw here's the timelapse:

That's all for now! Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #154: Angy Cat goes Pew Pew! 🔫😾