Art Attack #180: A Suspicious Piggy? 🐷

in OnChainArt5 months ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

We're back to more free artwork redemptions from my viewers on Twitch; where viewers can use their channel points they've hoarded over the course of watching my streams to claim free art from me! I thought since I'm an artist this would be a good way to reward my loyal viewers, and also practise my art with different styles at the same time.

This artwork was redeemed by one of my viewers who goes by Phangtasy on Twitch! He's also a fellow streamer and streams from time to time. But he's also super generous when he contributes to my community so I felt like I owed him and was more than happy to fulfill his request!

He actually redeemed free art from me before, and I did an animated crying pig emote for him back then that looks like this:

So this time, he wanted another emote but with a sus expression on the piggy's face. I'm sure everyone knows what sus is but so I just had to draw a piggy looking suspicious. He said it's because he's "never" being sus on my chat. By never he really means always, so I thought it was appropriate too.

For this one he gave me complete creative freedom and the first thing I thought of was the Fry meme from Futurama. I couldn’t find many references other than a cat one that looked pretty good so I went off that.

image.png

I came up with a sketch fairly quickly thanks to the references I found, and since I drew his piggy before I just traced the face shape I used last time.

image.png

The only real question was whether to include hands to make him look more suspicious like he's thinking. I thought it would look a bit too similar to a public emote that everyone knows called monkaHmm that looks like this, which isn't really the vibe I was going for but I guess it's close?

Source: Stream Scheme

The other reason why I wasn't sure to include "hands" was because they're the bane of every artist's existence. I tried a few times to draw them and it just wasn't coming out right.

image.png

It took a while and I wasn't sure if it was the size of the hands or the actual pig legs that were making it look weird.

image.png

But eventually I just went off another emote he has with a similar hand position but I think it works well with the expression.

image.png

After the sketch was done everything else was pretty straightforward. I did a bold outline which I think I should've done more of the previous time.

image.png

Then I colour picked from the previous emote I did to fill the outline. I added some extra shadows and some highlights to the nose to give it more depth and it turned out pretty well I think!

image.png

Phangtasy really likes a crescent moon and I did add it in the previous emote so I thought I should include it here as well, for continuity's sake. He wasn't hell bent on it but I thought the cheek was a perfect fit for it anyway.

image.png

I think it was pretty perfect and did add a little more contrast to the colours. It might have compromised a bit of the cheek depth but I think it still looks good. Anyway it'll be hard to see the shadows when it's in the chat at 28px so it's not a big deal.

I was surprised by how quick I was done since I draw pretty slowly, but I guess it is a pretty simple piece. I actually did this from scratch all in the span of half a stream and drew it live! It was cool being able to hang out with viewers, chill and draw. We ended up having some interesting talk about school, IQ tests and how to distinguish crocodiles and alligators which was fun. xD

Anyway, here's the timelapse:

If you're interested, I do draw on stream every Tuesday and you can even claim free artwork if you get enough channel points! We also play lots of interactive games so come hang out with us on my Twitch channel!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #179: Burnt Toast from a Pepega Toaster 🍞