Art Attack #184: Stu-dying makes hooman slug 😵

in OnChainArt3 months ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So one of my viewers on Twitch who goes by streetrata wanted to do something nice for his friend who was having a bad time. He decided he wanted to draw something for her and did a rough sketch of her discord profile picture that looks like this:

image.png

He wanted to customise the figure to her and this was what he drew:

image.png

I thought it looked pretty good, and as a gift it's the thought that counts right? He wanted to commission me to make it better so I got to work on it right away.

It seemed like a simple job to do, but it also looked a bit too simple, so during art stream we discussed how street wanted it to look like, and what else I could include. But since it was going to be a profile picture I didn't want to add too many details as well.

These were my references; I wanted to change the hair a little from what street drew to make it more natural-looking as opposed to the stiff ponytail.

image.png

Initially I wanted to make it more chibi-looking too, since it would tie in with the cheek she's leaning on. So this was my sketch:

image.png

I did go off of street's sketch for the hair but the lines looked weird to me towards the crown of the head and I couldn't make it look good.

image.png

So I decided to change it and thought this looked a lot better. He also wanted the paper and the pencil from the original picture so I included it as well.

image.png

The only problem I kept having was making the cheek look right since it was too angular at times, but I also didn't want to make it too round, so there was a lot of tweaking.

But eventually I settled on something that looked somewhat decent at least to me, so it was ready for a full colour. We went with some normal colours and reddish-brown hair, and I wanted to contrast the background so I chose a nice light blue.

image.png

Now I realised I made a few mistakes here and there and maybe the hair could've been done better. But at the time I had already spent more time than this piece needed and I was bugging street with every little adjustment so I stopped myself. But if I had to change things I would fix the hair and maybe give it more perspective like the original picture.

Either way, street was pretty happy with this and he sent it to his friend immediately, and the next day she said that she loved it! I was so glad since I've never drawn for someone I didn't know before so I was truly relieved that she liked it.

Here's the timelapse:

That's all for now! If you're interested, I do draw on stream every Tuesday and you can even claim free artwork if you get enough channel points! We also play lots of interactive games so come hang out with us on my Twitch channel!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #183: Facing DOOM with Imperator?

Sort:  

!BBH

@taco.cat! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @memess. (2/5)

hey thanks for curating!