Art Attack #193: Vibing in a Calm Study Room 📔

in OnChainArt16 days ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

This piece was from back in Jan 2023, when I did another draw along to a youtube video from Art with Flo! Her videos are very easy to follow and understand and she has a series called You Can Draw This with a variety of beautiful drawings with different styles! She also gives some very good tips and a refresher for different techniques on Procreate so I like to do these from time to time.

When I first came across this video I thought this looked way too pink for my liking but I really liked all the little details she added, and maybe I could tweak it somehow to my liking. But I tried following along first to get a gist of how she did it.

So first we start with an outline with a chalk brush which I never would think to use as a lining brush but it works surprisingly well for this style.

image.png

Then we add in some details like the stickies on the wall for the posters, the lamp and book shelves.

image.png

If I were doing this from scratch I'll definitely be drawing with a pencil first but I like that she just went for it with the chalk brush.

Then we move on to the background colour. In the tutorials, Flo gives the colour palette as well so I literally just followed along with her step by step.

image.png

I really liked the colours she picked too. It kinda gives me a nostalgic vibe and now that I see it the pink is actually not that pink after all and it's very well complemented by the greens and purples.

image.png

We add in a nice gradient on the background and in the window to show the night sky outside, which is one of my favourite parts of this piece.

image.png

Then we add in some shadows on almost all the objects, as well as on the floor for the plant, chair and backpack.

image.png

Finally we add in the fairy lights and the lighting effects from it onto all the objects as well, and voila! We are done!

image.png

I actually really enjoyed drawing along with this tutorial. The video is an hour long, but in reality it took me almost 2 hours to complete because I wanted to make sure it looked exactly like hers as I could, since hers looked so good. I also had some trouble with my lines but colouring was really fun.

I think overall it looks pretty nice despite me taking a while to complete it. It was still fun to draw and this actually inspired me to draw something else and redo my stream overlay which I will share in the future.

In the meantime, here's the timelapse:

I really like these videos since I can turn off my brain and not have to think about what to draw or how to do it and just follow along. If you use Procreate as well, definitely check out Art with Flo! She has plenty of Draw with Me videos that are so nice and simple to follow, and you'll feel great after completing them like I did with this one!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #192: Adorable TacoCat Truck! 🌮😻