Art Attack! #20: Toilet Trouble! 🚽

in OnChainArt4 years ago

5.jpg

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my paintings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So 2 weeks ago, I shared a piece I did based on Sally from LINE Friends; the characters in the popular chat app LINE, which looked like this:

image.png

I found quite a few really cute reference images in order to draw this "collage" of sorts, including this minimalist one:

BJ2fSIF6pk.jpg

And I thought it would be a nice simple piece to do for my own bathroom!

Here's the sketch I did!

1.jpg

I added in the sweat drops which I saw from another image I found. I believe this was the one (which is admittedly very cute too ):

image.png

And this is what my piece looked like after outlining! I actually really liked how this looked and was contemplating leaving it like this for a while.

2.jpg

But then I decided nah, Sally sould be yellow. And since I liked how she came out in the collage, I used the exact same shade I did for that piece here! And it turned out really well I think!

3.jpg

I used watercolour for the floor, and after that I decided to add in some turquoise on the top using gouache. But then the dots were too close so I had no choice but to cover it up and put the dots in the middle. I did my best to white out the dots, but unfortunately you could still see the white patches.

Other than that I think this piece came out pretty well! It's a simple, minimalist piece. I really like the style of the original image but I think the yellow on it was a bit too dark and saturated. So this is better I think.

I'm looking forward to getting my own place so I can put this up in the bathroom for sure! I saw a couple more minimalist Sally pictures online, and I'm definitely gonna try to paint them next time so stay tuned!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Aww it's adorable xD

aww thank you so much! :3